Annual Meeting and Reception 2011

More than two hundred people attended The Skin Cancer Foundation’s annual meeting and reception held at Latrobe’s on Royal in New Orleans during the American Academy of Dermatology meeting. The annual meeting consisted of the Research Grants Awards Ceremony, Amonette Circle and Robins Fund Induction Ceremonies. Afterwards, guests enjoyed some local cuisine and watched a very exciting Super Bowl. This annual event gives members and friends of the Foundation a chance to connect, reflect on the previous year and share plans for the year ahead.

Since 1981, The Skin Cancer Foundation has provided annual funding for pilot research projects related to skin cancer and has awarded more than one million dollars in research grants. This year, the Foundation awarded $115,000 in grants, including one $50,000 grant. This is the most money the Foundation has ever distributed in one year.

Three new members, Drs. Debra Abell, Cheryl Karcher and John Strasswimmer, were inducted into the Foundation’s Amonette Circle. Membership in the Circle signifies a dedication to fighting skin cancer and demonstrates outstanding leadership in the field of dermatology.

The meeting concluded with the induction ceremony of the newly created Robins Fund for the Advancement of Mohs Surgery. This very special group of physicians are joining forces to ensure the perpetuity of Mohs surgery. It is named in honor of Dr. Perry Robins for his extraordinary achievements in the advancement of Mohs Surgery. The inaugural members of The Robins Fund are Drs. Rex A. Amonette, Brett M. Coldiron, Leonard H. Goldberg, Joseph M.Masessa, Ronald L. Moy, Adelle T. Quintana, Deborah S. Sarnoff and Susan H. Weinkle.