Annual Meeting and Reception 2012

$155,000 Awarded to Eight Groundbreaking Projects at The Skin Cancer Foundation’s Annual Meeting and Reception

The Skin Cancer Foundation hosted hundreds of guests at its annual meeting and reception, where the Foundation awarded $155,000 in research grants — the most money ever distributed by the Foundation in a single year.

Held the during the American Academy of Dermatology (AAD)’s Annual Meeting in San Diego on March 18, guests joined the Foundation at The Westin Gaslamp Quarter for the Research Grant Awards Ceremony, and the Amonette Circle and Robins Fund Induction Ceremonies.

This year, a total of eight grants were awarded to fund pilot research projects related to skin cancer, including four $25,000 grants. Proposals are evaluated by members of the Foundation’s Grants Review Committee, which includes Jeffrey Dover, MD; Leonard Goldberg, MD; David Leffell, MD; David Polsky, MD; and Committee Chairman Bijan Safai, MD.  All projects are selected on the basis of their applicability to the Foundation’s mission of combating the skin cancer epidemic.  The Research Grant Awards Ceremony included award presentations by Dr. Goldberg; Dr. Marcia Robbins-Wilf; Dr. Polsky; and Mrs. Linda Nagel.

Following the Awards Ceremony and an introduction by Foundation President and founder Perry Robins, MD, Brett Coldiron, MD, welcomed new members to The Robins Fund for the Advancement of Mohs Surgery.  The Robins Fund, named in honor of Dr. Perry Robins for his extraordinary achievements in the advancement of Mohs Surgery, works to ensure the perpetuity of Mohs surgery. New members of The Robins Fund include C. Drew Claudel, MD; Montgomery Gillard, MD; Brian Harris, MD; H. Ross Harris, MD; Sherry Hsiung, MD; Brian L. Johnson, MD; Kishwer Nehal, MD; Jay Y. Park, MD; Sean Pattee, MD; Lisa Renfro, MD; Ritu Saini, MD, and Michael R. Warner, MD.

New members of the Amonette Circle were inducted by Dr. Rex and Johnnie Amonette. Membership in the Circle signifies a dedication to fighting skin cancer and demonstrates outstanding leadership in the field of dermatology. New Amonette Circle members include Andrew K. Bean, MD; Suneel Chilukuri, MD; Melanie Palm, MD; Maral Kibarian Skelsey, MD; and Marcy Street, MD.

After the induction ceremonies, Deborah S. Sarnoff, MD, spoke about the importance of becoming a professional member of The Skin Cancer Foundation.