Annual Meeting and Reception 2013

$100,000 in Research Grants Awarded for Skin Cancer Research; 11 Physicians Inducted into Professional Membership Program

The Skin Cancer Foundation hosted its annual meeting and reception on March 3, 2013 in Miami Beach, Florida. Held during the American Academy of Dermatology (AAD)’s Annual Meeting, guests enjoyed an evening of Latin food, drinks and music at the historic National Hotel. During the reception, five well-deserving physicians received a combined $100,000 in research grants for their work in the field of skin cancer detection and treatment. The Foundation also inducted new members into the Amonette Circle and the Robins Fund for the Advancement of Mohs Micrographic Surgery. The event was sponsored by Genentech and SkinMedica. 

Since the research program began, more than 150 research grants totaling more than $1.5 million have been awarded. This year, five grants were awarded to fund pilot research projects on skin cancer detection and treatment, including three $25,000 grants. Proposals submitted by dermatology residents, fellows and young faculty are evaluated by the Foundation’s Research Grants Committee, and grants are awarded to projects based on their relevance to the Foundation’s mission of combating the skin cancer epidemic. The Research Grant Committee is comprised of Jeffrey Dover, MD; Leonard Goldberg, MD; David Leffell, MD; David Polsky, MD; and Committee Chairman Bijan Safai, MD. The Research Grant Awards Ceremony included award presentations by Dr. Goldberg, Dr. Polsky, Linda Nagel, Luella Silberberg, and Dr. Marcia Robbins-Wilf. 

Three new members of the Amonette Circle were inducted by Dr. Rex and Mrs. Johnnie Amonette: Mary J. Hall, MD; Daniel J. Ladd, DO, and Amy Forman Taub, MD. Membership in the Amonette Circle signifies a dedication to fighting skin cancer and demonstrates outstanding leadership in the field of dermatology. 

Following the Amonette Circle Induction Ceremony, Skin Cancer Foundation President and Founder Perry Robins, MD, welcomed eight new members into The Robins Fund for the Advancement of Mohs Surgery. Named in honor of Dr. Robins for his extraordinary achievements in the advancement of Mohs Surgery, The Robins Fund works to ensure the perpetuity of Mohs surgery. Newly inducted members include Daniel C. Baker, MD; Andrew K. Bean, MD; Lisa B. Campbell, MD; Lisa Chipps, MD; Anir Dhir, MD; Arielle Kauvar, MD; Felix Kuo, MD, and William Steele, MD. 

At the end of the evening, Skin Cancer Foundation members received complimentary copies of a patient education DVD to use in their offices. The DVD includes interviews with two young women who have battled melanoma after using tanning beds as teenagers, and aims to help physicians communicate the dangers of indoor tanning to patients.

Watch the "Teen Tanners Talk" Video

Past Annual Meetings and Receptions