Member Reception 2017

Nineteen Dermatologists Inducted into Membership Program;
$85,000 Awarded in Grants for Skin Cancer Research

The Skin Cancer Foundation hosted its annual Member Reception on March 3 at the Castle Hotel in Orlando, Florida, during the American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) Annual Meeting. During the reception, the Foundation inducted new members into the Amonette Circle, the Robins Fund and the Funds for the Advancement of Mohs Surgery. The Foundation also announced the winners of its annual research grant awards.

The Skin Cancer Foundation’s new president, Deborah S. Sarnoff, MD, welcomed reception guests and announced that nineteen physicians would be inducted into the Foundation’s membership program. 

“One of my goals as president is to grow the Foundation’s membership program, so I’m delighted that we have so many new members joining us tonight,” said Dr. Sarnoff. “Our dermatologist members are really at the heart of everything we do, and we appreciate their dedication to The Skin Cancer Foundation’s cause.”

Five dermatologists were inducted into the Foundation’s Amonette Circle by Dr. Rex and Mrs. Johnnie Amonette:

  • Arash Akhavan, MD
  • Amy Brackeen, MD
  • Jeffrey Brackeen, MD
  • James O. Ertle, MD
  • Gregory J. Wilmoth, MD

Seven members were inducted into the Foundation’s Robins Fund for the Advancement of Mohs Surgery. Named in honor of Skin Cancer Foundation Founder, Perry Robins, MD, the Robins Fund works to ensure the perpetuity of Mohs surgery.

  • Mark Cohen, MD
  • Adrian Connolly, MD
  • Shayla Francis, MD
  • Mary Margaret Kober, MD
  • Eyal Levit, MD
  • Rebecca Lu, MD
  • Shawn Sabin, MD 

Several members of The Skin Cancer Foundation have begun their own membership funds in support of Mohs surgery. Members were inducted into the following funds:

  • The David Goldberg Fund: David Ciocon, MD
  • The Leonard Goldberg Fund: Bobby Awadalla, MD and Robin Friedman-Musicante, MD
  • The C. William Hanke Fund: Cynthia Bartus, MD; Aimee Leonard, MD; Kelley Redbord, MD and Emily Tierney, MD

David Polsky, MD, chair of The Skin Cancer Foundation’s Research Grants Committee, led the research grants award presentation. Four well-deserving researchers received a combined $85,000 in grants for their work in the field of skin cancer research. Learn more about the research grant recipients. 

The Skin Cancer Foundation’s Member Reception was sponsored by Amazon. Additional support was provided by Coolibar, Eau Thermal Avène and Genentech.