2016 Research Grant Awards

To date, the Skin Cancer Foundation has awarded more than 150 research grants, totaling more than $1.5 million dollars. This year, a combined $75,000 in research grants was awarded to three well-deserving physicians.

Research grant proposals were submitted by dermatology residents, fellows and young faculty. The proposals were reviewed by the Foundation’s Research Grants Committee, and grants were awarded to projects based on their relevance to the Foundation’s mission of combating the skin cancer epidemic. The Research Grants Committee is comprised of Rhoda Alani, MD, Suephy Chen, MD, MS, Leonard H. Goldberg, MD, Susan M. Swetter, MD and Committee Chairman David Polsky, MD, PhD. 

The 2016 Research Grant Award recipients are:

The Dr. Marcia Robbins-Wilf Research Award Society for $25,000

“Confocal Microscopy to Guide in Vivo Carbon Dioxide Laser Ablation of Non-Melanoma Skin Cancer”

Awarded to Anthony Rossi, MD, Assistant Attending Physician, Dermatology Service, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center      

Funding for this award was made possible by Dr. Marcia Robbins-Wilf. 

The Ashley Trenner Research Grant Award for $25,000

“Targeting p53 for Skin Cancer Prevention”

Awarded to Tamara Terzian, PhD, Assistant Professor, Dermatology Department, University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus    

Funding for this award was made possible by Bob and Karen Trenner.

The Todd Nagel Memorial Award for $25,000

“Development of CTCL-Seq, a Rapid, High Throughput Method to Simultaneously Assay All Known Oncogenes and Tumor Suppressors in Cutaneous T Cell Lymphoma”

Awarded to Jaehyuk Choi, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor in Dermatology and Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics, Northwestern University

Funding for this award was made possible by Linda Nagel and The Todd Nagel Golf Open.