2018 Research Grants Awarded

The 2018 Research Grant awards were presented at the Foundation’s Annual Reception on Friday, February 16, 2018, in San Diego, CA. David Polsky, MD, chair of The Skin Cancer Foundation’s Research Grants Committee, led the research grant awards presentation. The Research Grants Committee is comprised of Rhoda Alani, MD, Suephy Chen, MD, MS, Leonard H. Goldberg, MD, Susan M. Swetter, MD, Vijayasaradhi Setaluri, PhD and Committee Chairman David Polsky, MD, PhD. 

Dr. Polsky noted that 2018 was the first time the Foundation gave awards of $50,000, and increasing the amount of the awards improved the number and quality of the applications received. Three researchers received a combined $125,000 in grants for their work in the field of skin cancer research. They are:

The Ashley Trenner Research Grant Award for $25,000

“Potential Role for the Human Papillomavirus Vaccine to Prevent and Treat Squamous Cell Carcinoma”

Awarded to Anna Nichols, MD, PhD, University of Miami Miller School of Medicine

Funding for this award was made possible by Bob and Karen Trenner.

The Dr. Marcia Robbins-Wilf Research Award for $50,000

“Validation of Dermatologist-Performed Ultrasound for Regional Lymph Node Surveillance for High-Stage Cutaneous Squamous Cell Carcinoma”

Awarded to Emily Stamell Ruiz, MD, MPH, Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Funding for this award was made possible by Dr. Marcia Robbins-Wilf.

The Todd Nagel Memorial Award for $50,000

“Elucidating and Overcoming Mechanisms of Immunotherapy Resistance in Melanoma”

Awarded to William Damsky, MD, PhD, Yale Dermatology

Funding for this award was made possible by Linda Nagel and The Todd Nagel Golf Open.