Annual Meeting and Reception 2015

The Skin Cancer Foundation hosted its annual reception on March 22, 2015 in San Francisco, California. Held during the American Academy of Dermatology (AAD)’s Annual Meeting, over 300 guests enjoyed an evening of hors d'oeuvres, cocktails, and networking at The Palomar Hotel. During the reception, the Foundation inducted new members into the Amonette Circle, the Robins Fund and the Funds for the Advancement of Mohs Surgery. Additionally, five well-deserving researchers received a combined $100,000 in research grants for their work in the field of skin cancer detection and treatment. The evening was sponsored by Sephora and Genentech. 

Three new members of the Amonette Circle were inducted by Dr. Rex and Mrs. Johnnie Amonette: Gina Ang, MD, John Buker, MD and Anne Marie McNeill, MD. Membership in the Amonette Circle signifies a dedication to fighting skin cancer and demonstrates outstanding leadership in the field of dermatology. 

Following the Amonette Circle induction ceremony, Skin Cancer Foundation Senior Vice President Deborah S. Sarnoff, MD welcomed four new members into The Robins Fund for the Advancement of Mohs Surgery. Named in honor of Skin Cancer Foundation Founder and President, Perry Robins, MD, the Robins Fund works to ensure the perpetuity of Mohs surgery. Newly inducted members include: David Adams, MD, Andrew Herbst, MD, Ali Hendi, MD and Gerald Peters, MD. 

Skin Cancer Foundation Senior Vice President Ronald Moy, MD then led the Funds for the Advancement of Mohs Surgery presentation. These charitable funds include Dr. Robins’ own trainees, and other prominent Mohs surgeons, who recruited their own trainees to support the Foundation and the advancement of Mohs surgery. Roy Geronemus, MD, David Goldberg, MD and Moy himself have each started their own Funds, and inducted several of their trainees during the ceremony. New inductees include:

  • Geronemus Fund: Bradley Bloom, MD
  • Goldberg Fund: Snehal Amin, MD and Ellen Marmur, MD.
  • Moy Fund: Brian Bucalo, MD, Mary Christian Reed, MD, K. Wade Foster, MD, Hayes B. Gladstone, MD, David Kouba, MD, Walter K. Nahm, MD, Victor A. Neel, MD and Ariel Ostad, MD 

Dr. Sarnoff concluded the ceremony by highlighting several of the Foundation’s current programs and recent successes including Heads Up!, an education program geared towards hair stylists and aestheticians, the Foundation’s Spanish-language website,, the 2014 World Congress on Cancers of the Skin and the Foundation’s anti-tanning college campus initiative, which aims to reduce student indoor tanning behaviors on and near college campuses and increase awareness of tanning dangers. 

Learn More About the 2015 Research Grant Awards

Past Annual Meetings and Receptions