黑色素瘤 治疗

历史性进步。 新选项。 更多希望。

虽然黑色素瘤是最危险的皮肤癌之一,但有前途的新治疗方案正在改善晚期黑色素瘤患者的生活质量和生存率。

如果您被确诊,您的治疗选择取决于 疾病阶段、肿瘤的位置和您的整体健康状况。 选项包括:

请您的医生清楚地解释可能最适合您的选项,包括有关益处和风险的详细信息。

与坐在办公室检查沙发上的女医生咨询黑色素瘤治疗的成熟女性

手术切除黑色素瘤

治疗早期黑色素瘤

第 0 阶段“就地”和第 I 阶段

肿瘤发现于 早期 仅限于皮肤的上层,没有扩散的迹象。 这些黑色素瘤的治疗方法是 切除手术. 通常,这是唯一需要的治疗。 第一步是活组织检查,医生切除部分或全部病变并将其送到实验室进行分析,黑色素瘤在那里被诊断和分期。 对于切除手术,外科医生从该部位移除更多组织。

原位黑色素瘤(0 期)位于皮肤的最外层(表皮)。 0 期黑色素瘤的治疗和治愈难度最小。 I 期黑色素瘤已侵入皮肤的第二层(真皮)。 在 0 期和 I 期黑色素瘤病例中,医生使用手术刀切除任何剩余的肿瘤以及周围正常组织的“安全边际”。 正常皮肤切除的边缘取决于肿瘤的厚度和位置。 手术后检查边缘以确保它们没有癌变。 如果边缘无癌,则无需进一步手术。

在某些情况下,外科医生可能会建议通过以下方式去除黑色素瘤 莫氏手术. 该程序在几天内分阶段完成,以逐层去除所有癌细胞,同时保留健康组织并留下尽可能小的疤痕。 一次移除一层并检查,直到边缘无癌。 这项技术的新进展使外科医生更容易在边缘发现黑色素瘤细胞。

如果黑色素瘤的厚度为 0.8 毫米或更厚或具有其他特征(例如溃疡),使其更容易扩散到淋巴结,则 前哨淋巴结活检 (SLNB) 可以与切除原发肿瘤的手术同时进行。

治疗中度、高危黑色素瘤

第二阶段

由于扩散到局部淋巴结的风险较高 II期黑色素瘤,以 前哨淋巴结活检 通常建议在手术之外去除原始肿瘤。 如果在前哨淋巴结中发现黑色素瘤,您的医生可能会检查该淋巴盆中的其余淋巴结并移除任何含有癌细胞的淋巴结。

手术后,可能会推荐额外的治疗,包括 免疫疗法 or 辐射 以减少黑色素瘤复发的机会。

什么是前哨淋巴结活检? 了解更多

治疗晚期黑色素瘤

第三阶段和第四阶段

晚期黑色素瘤是那些已经扩散到原始肿瘤之外的黑色素瘤,最常到达淋巴结和/或远处器官并且变得更难治疗。

近年来,新的免疫疗法和靶向疗法在许多 III 期和 IV 期黑色素瘤患者中取得了积极成果。

III 期黑色素瘤患者现在可以选择补充或“辅助”治疗——提高手术效果的药物,目的是预防或延迟复发和延长生存期,理想情况下实现治愈。

在手术切除肿瘤和许多情况下的淋巴结后,IV 期患者有相当多的前线治疗选择,并取得了相当大的成功。 在许多情况下,如果第一种治疗证明无效或停止工作,则可以使用其他疗法。 这些疗法通过缩小肿瘤并阻止或减缓疾病进展来发挥作用,从而帮助延长生命数月至数年,甚至可能导致治愈。

免疫治疗

革命性的治疗选择

免疫疗法的开创性突破——使用药物刺激患者的免疫系统来破坏癌细胞——已导致晚期黑色素瘤患者的治疗取得重大进展。

免疫疗法通过使用天然免疫系统蛋白质的合成版本,或通过释放攻击肿瘤的细胞来增强人体对抗黑色素瘤和其他癌症的能力。 这些疗法在单独或组合使用时均有效。

检查点封锁疗法

为了确保 T 细胞只攻击细菌和疾病而不是身体本身,免疫系统使用检查点,即抑制 T 细胞的分子。 T 细胞是帮助保护身体免受感染的白细胞。 检查点有助于防止 T 细胞攻击体内的正常细胞。

检查点阻断免疫疗法通过静脉注射给黑色素瘤患者,以阻止检查点分子抑制 T 细胞。 这使免疫系统能够释放 T 细胞波来攻击和杀死癌细胞。

以下检查点封锁疗法正在用于晚期黑色素瘤患者:

细胞毒性 T 淋巴细胞抗原 4 (CTLA-4) 阻断剂

治疗概述

FDA 于 2011 年批准用于 IV 期黑色素瘤患者, 伊匹单抗 是第一个帮助显着缩小许多肿瘤并延长晚期黑色素瘤患者生命的检查点封锁疗法。 从那时起,新的免疫治疗药物被证明作为单一疗法(单一疗法)更加有效,有些药物的副作用不太严重。

批准的药物

易普利姆玛(Yervoy®)

产品思路

Ipilimumab 以 CTLA-4 为靶点,CTLA-4 是 T 细胞上的一种蛋白质,起着调节免疫系统激活的“刹车”作用。 阻断 CTLA-XNUMX 可使 T 细胞攻击和破坏肿瘤。

虽然 ipilimumab 不再是治疗 IV 期黑色素瘤的一线选择,但它通常与另一种检查点阻断药物 nivolumab 联合使用,作为 IV 期患者的联合一线治疗,或者在抗 PD-1 治疗失败时使用。

PD-1阻滞剂

治疗概述

2014 年,FDA 批准了另外两种检查点阻断药物,用于治疗已经扩散到淋巴结以外的黑色素瘤患者或无法通过手术切除的黑色素瘤(IV 期)。

批准的药物

派姆单抗(Keytruda®)
纳武利尤单抗(Opdivo®)

他们是如何工作的

PD-1(程序性死亡-1)是 T 细胞上的一种蛋白质受体,可与其他细胞表面上称为 PD-L1 的互补蛋白质结合,有助于控制免疫系统。 这两种药物都可以阻断 PD-1 以释放对 T 细胞的制动,并允许它们附着黑色素瘤细胞。

这些药物可以单独使用(单一疗法),也可以将 nivolumab 与 ipilimumab 或 relatlimab 联合使用。 在尝试其他药物之前,它们可以作为第一种治疗选择,也可以作为其他治疗失败或停止工作时的第二种选择。

2017 年,FDA 批准 nivolumab 用于淋巴结黑色素瘤 III 期患者肿瘤切除后的治疗(称为辅助治疗)。

2019年XNUMX月,FDA也批准了检查点阻断疗法 pembrolizumab 用于辅助治疗肿瘤切除后已转移至淋巴结的 III 期黑色素瘤。 该批准基于 3 期研究,该研究表明,pembrolizumab 显着延长了已切除的高风险 III 期黑色素瘤患者的无复发生存期 (RFS)。 根据患者的不同,nivolumab 或 pembrolizumab 现在可以被认为是辅助治疗没有 BRAF 基因缺陷的 III 期黑色素瘤患者的一线选择。 (在那些确实有 BRAF 缺陷的患者中,联合靶向治疗 dabrafenib-trametinib(Tafinlar®-Mekinist®) 也可以被视为前线选项。)

2021 年 3 月,FDA 将派姆单抗的批准范围扩大到 IIB 期和 IIC 期黑色素瘤的辅助治疗,这两种疾病的复发或死亡风险与 III 期黑色素瘤相同。 该批准基于 35 期研究,该研究表明,与安慰剂相比,pembrolizumab 可将手术切除的 IIB 期或 IIC 期黑色素瘤患者的疾病复发或死亡风险降低 XNUMX%。 这一批准基本上使现在有资格接受辅助免疫治疗的黑色素瘤患者数量翻了一番。

联合免疫疗法

通过配对疗法获得前所未有的结果

治疗概述

2016年,FDA批准了组合 纳武单抗和易普利姆玛 作为转移性或无法手术的黑色素瘤患者的一线治疗。 2022 年,FDA 批准了第二种组合, 纳武单抗和 relatlimab,作为转移性或无法手术的黑色素瘤患者的一线治疗。

批准的药物

纳武单抗-易普利姆玛 (Opdivo® – Yervoy®)
Nivolumab-Relatlimab (Opdualag®),组合

他们是如何工作的

通过配对 nivolumab 和 ipilimumab, 两种成功的检查点封锁疗法,研究人员创造了另一种治疗选择,已证明在缩小肿瘤和延长生命方面比单独使用任何一种药物疗法更有效,尽管联合药物的不良反应也比单独使用任何一种药物更强烈。

同样,纳武单抗和 relatlimab 的配对被证明是比单独的纳武单抗治疗更有效的治疗选择。 Relatlimab 仅在该组合中获得 FDA 批准,可阻断 T 细胞上的 LAG-3 蛋白受体,从而防止 T 细胞与肿瘤细胞表面的互补蛋白结合。 就像 PD-1 抑制一样,这会释放免疫系统的缺陷,并允许 T 细胞攻击黑色素瘤细胞。

溶瘤病毒疗法

治疗概述

2015年FDA批准溶瘤病毒疗法 talimogene laherparepvec (Imlygic®),也称为 T-VEC,用于治疗无法通过手术切除的晚期黑色素瘤患者的皮肤和淋巴结。

批准的药物

Talimogene laherparepvec,或 T-VEC (Imlygic®)

产品思路

这种直接注射到肿瘤中的新型免疫疗法使用一种实验室改造的病毒,称为溶瘤病毒,这种病毒专门用于感染和杀死癌细胞。 与此同时,病毒中的一种免疫增强蛋白会加速人体对肿瘤的免疫反应。 该药物最直接的作用是缩小注射肿瘤的大小,但次要目标是让药物发挥全身作用,攻击全身的癌症。

现在正在研究类似的病毒,目的是为疾病已经扩散或复发的黑色素瘤患者提供更多选择。

过继细胞转移

产品思路

这种实验性的新途径使用称为肿瘤浸润淋巴细胞 (TIL) 的白细胞来攻击黑色素瘤。 目前正在针对对其他治疗没有反应的晚期黑色素瘤患者进行临床试验,探索这种治疗方法。 大多数情况下,被发现攻击黑色素瘤的淋巴细胞是从患者体内提取的,在实验室中大量培养,然后返回给患者。

早期免疫疗法

治疗概述

曾经用于高危 II 期、III 期和 IV 期黑色素瘤患者的较旧形式的免疫疗法已被更新、更有效的治疗方案取代为一线治疗。

批准的药物

干扰素α-2b
白细胞介素2
聚乙二醇干扰素 alfa-2b

他们是如何工作的

这些早期形式的免疫疗法通过增强免疫系统抵抗疾病的能力发挥作用。 由于新疗法的卓越效果,它们如今已较少使用。

靶向治疗

个性化癌症治疗

革命性靶向疗法的发展标志着黑色素瘤患者个性化医疗新时代的开始,允许在对健康细胞造成最小损害的情况下治疗肿瘤。

靶向疗法使用药物和其他药物通过抑制有缺陷的基因和分子(包括 BRAF 和 MEK)的作用来攻击黑色素瘤,这些基因和分子在加速黑色素瘤细胞的生长和扩散方面发挥作用。 如果成功,这些治疗可以阻止或减缓疾病的进展并帮助患者延长寿命。

在过去十年中,使用 BRAF 和 MEK 靶向疗法治疗晚期黑色素瘤取得了显著成功。

什么是BRAF?

BRAF 被称为“开关基因”。 它产生一种通常调节皮肤细胞的蛋白质,使它们仅在需要时繁殖。 但是 BRAF 的遗传变化(突变)可以使其异常开启,从而导致肿瘤生长失控。

大约一半的黑色素瘤患者有 BRAF 突变。 靶向治疗在改善具有 BRAF 突变的晚期黑色素瘤患者的预后方面取得了重大成功。

BRAF抑制剂

治疗概述

2011年,vermurafenib成为第一个获批用于晚期黑色素瘤患者的靶向治疗药物。 在不同的时间内,它会关闭 BRAF 基因产生 BRAF 蛋白。

批准的药物

威罗非尼(Zelboraf®)
达拉非尼(Tafinlar®)
恩哥拉非尼(Braftovi®)

他们是如何工作的

这些靶向药物阻断和停用由BRAF基因变化驱动的肿瘤生长通路,延缓疾病进展,缩小肿瘤,延长患者生命。

如果测试证实患者患有晚期黑色素瘤,实验室通常会进行 BRAF 突变测试以确定肿瘤是否具有缺陷基因。 这些结果表明靶向 BRAF 的疗法是否可用于治疗。

什么是甲乙酮?

MEK 是一种与 BRAF 一起调节细胞生长的酶。 抑制 MEK 的药物也可以帮助治疗因 BRAF 基因突变而产生的黑色素瘤。

MEK抑制剂

治疗概述

BRAF 靶向治疗通常在一段时间内非常有效,但在大多数患者中,黑色素瘤最终会对治疗产生耐药性并开始再次生长。 开发针对 MEK 的药物是为了解决这种耐药性并阻止疾病的发展。

批准的药物

曲美替尼(Mekinist®)
考比替尼(Cotellic®)
比尼美替尼(Mektovi®)

他们是如何工作的

为了延缓黑色素瘤治疗耐药并提高生存率,研究人员开发了抑制 MEK 的靶向药物。

联合靶向治疗

通过配对疗法获得更好的健康结果

治疗概述

BRAF 缺陷的黑色素瘤患者接受靶向治疗后,几乎总是会接受同时抑制 BRAF 和 MEK 的药物治疗,因为已发现将这些靶向药物配对比单独使用 BRAF 疗法效果更好。 接受联合疗法治疗的患者肿瘤缩小得更快、更显着和更持久,疾病进展更慢,平均寿命更长,同时严重副作用也更少。 这些组合非常有效,以至于几乎不再使用单一药物靶向疗法。

批准的药物

达拉非尼-曲美替尼(Tafinlar®-Mekinist®)
Encorafenib-Binimetinib (Braftovi®-梅克托维®)
Cobimetinib-Vemurafenib (Cotellic®-Zelboraf®)

他们是如何工作的

联合治疗背后的原则是,即使 BRAF 抑制剂遇到耐药性,MEK 抑制剂也可以有效减缓或阻止疾病进展。

*了解更多 关于 联合免疫疗法和 靶向治疗: Atezolizumab-Cobimetinib-Vemurafenib (Tecentriq®-Cotellic®-Zelboraf®)。

化疗

治疗概述

由于免疫疗法和靶向疗法产生了非常优越的结果,化学疗法不再是一线疗法。 如果靶向治疗和/或检查点封锁治疗失败,则最常使用它。 它有时可以与这些其他疗法结合使用。

批准的药物

达卡巴嗪 (DTIC)
替莫唑胺

产品思路

化学疗法是一种系统性方法,使用某些杀死癌细胞或阻止癌细胞增殖的药物来阻止肿瘤生长。 然而,它从未被证明作为一种单一疗法可以延长黑色素瘤患者的生命,并且可能会产生严重的副作用。

放射治疗

治疗概述

放射线很少用于治疗原发性黑色素瘤,但可用于治疗已经扩散到大脑或其他远处部位的黑色素瘤,以缩小肿瘤并减轻疼痛,提高舒适度和活动能力。 它也可以在手术后用于手术部位,以帮助确保所有肿瘤细胞都已被杀死,并且正在研究与检查点封锁疗法等治疗相结合以提高疗效。

产品思路

放疗是一种局部治疗,可引导高能 X 射线束穿透并破坏肿瘤或阻止肿瘤生长。 辐射最常用于:

  • 复发风险高的黑色素瘤:手术后可以使用放疗来降低某些类型黑色素瘤切除后复发的机会。
  • 已经复发的黑色素瘤:如果黑色素瘤在皮肤或淋巴结上复发,在某些情况下,医生可能会进行放射治疗以减少或消除肿瘤并可能防止扩散到远处。
  • 已经扩散的黑色素瘤:辐射可用于帮助使检查点封锁疗法或靶向疗法更有效地发挥作用。

临床试验

如果您被诊断出患有晚期黑色素瘤,您可能有资格参加临床试验——一项使用新疗法或实验性疗法进行的精心控制的研究。

在做出决定之前,与您的医生讨论临床试验的可能性、风险和益处非常重要。 有关现在正在进行的临床试验的更多信息以及最近试验的结果,请访问 查找研究 美国国立卫生研究院网站上的页面。

在地平线上

虽然今天存在比以往更多的黑色素瘤治疗选择,但目前正在探索更多的新方法。 事实上,有新的工具,包括 基因组测试,帮助医生做出更明智的决定,以改善健康结果和患者体验。 基于当今在理解和治疗黑色素瘤方面的强劲发展势头,研究人员正在努力改进治疗组合和策略以改善结果。 总有一天,晚期黑色素瘤可能会从致命疾病转变为慢性、可控制甚至可治愈的疾病。

点评人:
医学博士 Allan C. Halpern
Ashfaq A. Marghoob,医学博士
医学博士 Ofer Reiter

最后更新: 2022 年 XNUMX 月

请注意: 本网站上包含的信息经过医学审查,真实准确。 它仅用于教育目的。 此页面上的治疗信息不是对任何药物、设备或治疗的推荐或认可,也不表示任何药物、设备或治疗对您是安全或有效的。 如果您对皮肤癌治疗有任何疑问,请咨询您的医疗保健提供者。

本节通过教育补助金成为可能

基因泰克 城堡生物科学标志
 默克公司   卫材
捐献
找皮肤科医生

推荐产品

Melanoma Treatment

Historic Progress. New Options. More Hope.

While melanoma is one of the most dangerous forms of skin cancer, promising new treatment options are improving quality of life and increasing survival rates for patients with advanced melanoma.

If you’ve been diagnosed, your treatment choices depend on the stage of the disease, the location of the tumor and your overall health. Options include:

Ask your doctor to clearly explain the options that might work best for you, including details about the benefits and risks.

Mature Woman In Consultation With Female Doctor Sitting On Examination Couch In Office
Genetech logo color

Surgical removal of the melanoma

Treating early melanoma

Stage 0 “in situ” and Stage I

Tumors discovered at an early stage are those that are confined to the upper layers of the skin and without evidence of spread. These melanomas are treated by excisional surgery and usually this is the only treatment required to successfully rid the patient of melanoma. The first step is a biopsy, where the physician removes part or all of the lesion and sends it to a lab for analysis, where the melanoma is diagnosed and staged.

Melanoma in situ (stage 0) is a melanoma localized to the outermost layer of skin (the epidermis). Stage I melanoma is a melanoma that has invaded the second layer of skin (the dermis). In both stage 0 and stage I melanoma cases the physician uses a scalpel to remove the tumor together with a “safety margin” of surrounding normal tissue. The margin of normal skin removed depends on the thickness and location of the tumor. After surgery the margins are checked to make sure they are cancer-free. If the margins are cancer-free, no further surgery is necessary.

Surgeons may, under certain circumstances, recommend removal of melanoma by Mohs micrographic surgery. The procedure is done in stages over a few days to remove all of the cancer cells in layers while sparing healthy tissue and leaving the smallest possible scar. One layer at a time is removed and examined until the margins are cancer-free. New advances in this technique make it easier for the surgeon to spot melanoma cells in the margins.

If a melanoma measures 0.8 mm or more in thickness or has other traits such as ulceration that make it more likely to spread to the lymph nodes, a sentinel lymph node biopsy (SLNB) may be performed at the same time as the surgery to remove the primary tumor.

Treating intermediate, high-risk melanomas

Stage II

Since the risk of spreading to local lymph nodes is higher in stage II melanomas, a sentinel lymph node biopsy is often recommended in addition to surgery to remove the original tumor. If melanoma is found in the sentinel node, your physician may examine the rest of the nodes in this lymphatic basin and remove any that contain cancer cells.

After surgery, additional treatment may be recommended, including immunotherapy or radiation to decrease the chance that the melanoma will come back.

What is a sentinel lymph node biopsy? Learn more.

Treating advanced melanomas

Stage III and Stage IV

Advanced melanomas are those that have spread beyond the original tumor, most often reaching the lymph nodes and/or distant organs, making them more difficult to treat.

In recent years, new immunotherapies and targeted therapies have achieved positive results in many patients with stage III and stage IV melanoma.

Patients with stage III melanoma now have options for supplemental or “adjuvant” treatment – medicines that enhance the effectiveness of surgery, with the goal of preventing or delaying relapse and extending survival, ideally achieving a cure.

After surgery to remove the tumor and in many cases the lymph nodes, stage IV patients have up to six frontline treatment options that have shown promise. In many cases, if the first treatment proves ineffective or stops working, other therapies are available. These therapies work by shrinking tumors and halting or slowing disease progression to help extend life by months to years and perhaps even leading to a cure.

Immunotherapy

Revolutionary new treatment options

Pioneering breakthroughs in immunotherapy — the use of medicines to stimulate a patient’s immune system to destroy cancer cells —have led to significant progress in treating patients with advanced melanoma.

Immunotherapies boost the body’s ability to fight melanoma and other cancers by using synthetic versions of natural immune system proteins, or by enabling the release of cells that attack tumors. These therapies are effective when used alone or in combinations.

Checkpoint blockade therapy

To assure that T-cells attack only bacteria and disease and not the body itself, the immune system uses checkpoints, which are molecules that suppress T- cells. T-cells are the white blood cells that help protect the body from infection. Checkpoints help keep T-cells from attacking normal cells in the body.

Checkpoint blockade immunotherapies are given to melanoma patients to stop checkpoint molecules from inhibiting T cells. This enables the immune system to release waves of T cells to attack and kill cancer cells.

The following checkpoint blockade therapies are being used for patients with advanced melanoma:

Cytotoxic T-lymphocyte Antigen-4 (CTLA-4) blocker

Treatment overview

Approved by the FDA in 2011 for patients with stage IV melanoma, ipilimumab was the first checkpoint blockade therapy that helped shrink many tumors markedly and extend life for patients with advanced melanoma. Since then, newer immunotherapy drugs have proven even more effective, some with less serious side effects.

Approved medication

Ipilimumab (Yervoy®)

How it works

Ipilimumab targets CTLA-4, a protein on the T cell that functions as a “brake” to regulate immune system activation. Blocking CTLA-4 allows T cells to attack and destroy tumors.

While ipilimumab may not be the first choice for treating stage IV melanoma, it is often paired with another checkpoint blockade drug, nivolumab, as a combination frontline therapy for stage IV patients, or can be administered if anti PD-1 treatment has failed.

PD-1 blockers

Treatment Overview

In 2014, the FDA approved two additional checkpoint blockade drugs for use in patients with melanoma that has spread beyond the lymph nodes or for melanomas that cannot be removed by surgery (stage IV).

Approved Medications

Pembrolizumab (Keytruda®)
Nivolumab (Opdivo®)

How they work

By blocking PD-1 (programmed death-1), a protein receptor on T cells that binds to the PD-1 protein on the surface of cells and helps keep the immune response in check, both drugs release the brakes on the T cells and allow the T cells to attack melanoma cells.

Based on research showing that these new drugs can be safer and more effective than ipilimumab, both can now be used as frontline therapies for stage IV  melanoma patients. This means that they can be the first option before other medicines have been tried, and as a second option when other treatments have failed or stopped working.

In 2017, the FDA also approved nivolumab for adjuvant therapy in stage III patients who have melanoma in the lymph nodes as well as stage IV patients whose cancer has reached distant sites.

In February 2019, the FDA also approved the checkpoint blockade inhibitor pembrolizumab for the adjuvant treatment of Stage III melanoma that has metastasized to the lymph nodes after tumor removal. The approval was based on phase 3 research demonstrating that pembrolizumab significantly prolonged recurrence-free survival (RFS) in patients with resected, high-risk Stage III melanoma. Depending on the patient, either nivolumab or pembrolizumab can now be considered a frontline option for adjuvant treatment of stage III melanoma in patients who do not have a defective BRAF gene. (In those who do have defective BRAF, the combination targeted therapy dabrafenib-trametinib (Tafinlar®-Mekinist®) can also be considered a frontline option.)

Combination immunotherapy

Promising results by pairing therapies

Treatment Overview

In 2016, the FDA approved the combination of nivolumab and ipilimumab as a frontline therapy for stage IV patients with metastatic or inoperable melanoma.

Approved medications

Nivolumab-Ipilimumab (Opdivo ® – Yervoy®)

How it works

By pairing two successful checkpoint blockade therapies, researchers have created another treatment option that has proven even more effective in shrinking tumors and prolonging life than either drug therapy used on its own, though adverse reactions with the combination medicine are also stronger than with either medicine alone.

Oncolytic virus therapy

Treatment Overview

In 2015, the FDA approved the oncolytic virus, talimogene laherparepvec (Imlygic®), also known as T-VEC, to treat the skin and lymph nodes of patients with advanced melanomas that cannot be surgically removed.

Approved Medications

Talimogene laherparepvec, or T-VEC (Imlygic®)

How it works

This entirely new class of immunotherapy, injected directly into tumors, uses a lab-altered virus, known as an oncolytic virus, that is specifically programmed to infect and kill cancer cells exclusively. At the same time, an immune-boosting protein in the virus accelerates the body’s immune response to the tumors. The medicine’s most immediate effect is to shrink the size of injected tumors, but the secondary goal is for the drug to work systemically, attacking the cancer throughout the body.

Similar viruses are now being studied, with a goal of producing more options for melanoma patients whose diseases have spread or returned.

Adoptive cell transfer

How it works

This experimental new avenue uses white blood cells called tumor-infiltrating lymphocytes (TILs) to attack melanoma. The treatment is currently being explored in clinical trials on patients with advanced melanomas that have not responded to other treatments. Most often, the lymphocytes found to be attacking the melanoma are extracted from the patient, cultured in massive numbers in a lab and then returned to the patient.

Early immunotherapies

Treatment Overview

Older forms of immunotherapy once used in high-risk stage II, III and IV melanoma patients have since been replaced as frontline treatments by newer, more effective treatment options.

Approved medications

Interferon – alfa-2b
Interleukin -2

How they work

These early forms of immunotherapy worked by boosting the immune system’s ability to fight disease. They were once used, respectively, for high-risk stage III and stage IV patients to try and keep melanomas from recurring and advancing. Because they have not proven to extend life significantly, and because they produce significant side effects, these drugs now have a reduced role in treating melanoma and are used to reinforce or complement other treatment options, or in clinical trials studying new drugs.

Targeted therapies

Personalized cancer treatment

The development of revolutionary targeted therapies marked the beginning of a new era of personalized medicine for melanoma patients, allowing tumors to be treated with minimal damage to healthy cells.

Targeted therapies use drugs and other substances to attack melanoma by inhibiting the action of defective genes and molecules – including BRAF and MEK – that play a role in accelerating the growth and spread of melanoma cells. When successful, these treatments halt or slow the progression of the disease and help patients live longer.

In the past decade there has been notable success using BRAF- and MEK-targeted therapies alone and in combination to treat advanced melanoma.

What is BRAF?

BRAF is known as a “switch gene.” It produces a protein that normally regulates skin cells, allowing them to multiply only when needed. But genetic changes (mutations) to BRAF keep it switched on abnormally, driving out-of-control tumor growth.

About half of all melanoma patients have the BRAF mutation. Both targeted therapies and combination therapies with checkpoint inhibitors have shown significant success in improving outcomes for patients with advanced melanoma who have the BRAF mutation.

BRAF inhibitors

Treatment Overview

In 2011, vemurafenib became the first targeted therapy approved for advanced melanoma patients that shut off the BRAF gene’s production of the BRAF protein. This breakthrough led to the development of additional drugs that target BRAF.

Approved Medications

Vemurafenib (Zelboraf®)
Dabrafenib (Tafinlar®)
Encorafenib (Braftovi™)

How they work

These targeted drugs interrupt and deactivate the tumor growth pathway driven by the genetic change in BRAF, delaying the progression of the disease, shrinking tumors and extending the life of patients.

If testing confirms that a patient has advanced melanoma, the lab will also perform a BRAF mutation test to determine whether the tumor has the defective gene. These results show whether therapies targeting BRAF can be used in treatment.

What is MEK?

MEK is an enzyme that works together with BRAF to regulate cell growth. Drugs that inhibit MEK can also help treat melanomas that arise because of mutations in the BRAF gene.

MEK inhibitors

Treatment Overview

BRAF-targeted therapies are often remarkably effective for a period of time, but in most patients, the melanoma eventually develops a resistance to treatment and begins to grow again. New medications targeting MEK were developed to address this resistance and halt the advancement of the disease.

Approved Medications

Trametinib (Mekinist®)
Cobimetinib (Cotellic®)
Binimetinib (Mektovi™)

How they work

To delay melanoma treatment resistance and increase survival, researchers developed targeted drugs that inhibit MEK.

Combination targeted therapies

Better health outcomes by pairing therapies

Treatment Overview

A melanoma patient with defective BRAF who goes on targeted therapy will almost always be treated with drugs that inhibit both BRAF and MEK, because pairing these targeted drugs has been found to work better than the BRAF therapies alone. Patients treated with combination therapies have faster, more dramatic and sustained tumor shrinkage, slower disease progression and live longer on average, while also experiencing fewer serious side effects. The combos work so effectively that the use of the single-drug targeted therapies has been virtually eliminated.

Approved Medications

Dabrafenib -Trametinib (TafinlarR – Mekinist®)
Encorafenib-Binimetinib (Braftovi™-Mektovi™)
Vemurafenib-Cobimetinib (Zelboraf® – Cotellic®)

How they work

The principle behind combination therapy is that even when the BRAF inhibitor meets with resistance, the MEK inhibitor can be effective in slowing or stopping disease progression.

Chemotherapy

Treatment Overview

Since immunotherapies and targeted therapies produce vastly superior results, chemotherapy is no longer a frontline therapy. It is most often used if targeted therapies or checkpoint blockade therapies fail.

Approved Medications

Dacarbazine (DTIC)
Temozolomide

How it works

Chemotherapy is a systemic approach to stopping tumor growth using certain medicines that either kill cancer cells or stop them from multiplying. It has never been proven to extend life for melanoma patients, however, and can have serious side effects.

Radiation therapy

Treatment Overview

Radiation is rarely used to treat a melanoma in its original site, but may be used to treat melanomas that have spread to the brain or other distant sites to shrink tumors and decrease pain, improve comfort and mobility  It is also used on the surgical site after surgery to help assure that all tumor cells have been killed, and is also being studied in combination with treatments such as checkpoint blockade therapies to enhance health outcomes for patients with advanced melanoma.

How it works

Radiation is a localized treatment that directs high-energy X-ray beams to penetrate and destroy the tumors or keep them from growing. Radiation is most often used for:

  • Melanomas at high risk of recurrence: Radiation can be used after surgery to lower the chance of recurrence after removal of certain types of melanomas.
  • Melanomas that have returned: If the melanoma has come back on the skin or lymph nodes, in certain cases, doctors may treat with radiation to reduce or eliminate the tumor and potentially prevent spread to distant sites.
  • Melanomas that have spread:  Radiation may be used to help make checkpoint blockade therapies or targeted therapies work more effectively.

Clinical trials

If you have been diagnosed with advanced melanoma, you may be eligible to participate in a clinical trial – a carefully controlled research study using new or experimental treatments.

Before making a decision, it’s important to discuss the possibilities, risks and benefits of clinical trials with your doctor. For more information about clinical trials that are being conducted now, along with results of recent trials, visit the Find Studies page on the U.S. National Institutes of Health website.

On the horizon

While more melanoma treatment options exist today than ever before, there are even more new approaches currently being explored. Building on today’s strong forward momentum in understanding and treating melanoma, researchers are hard at work refining the therapeutic combinations and strategies to improve health outcomes and someday transform advanced melanoma from a deadly disease to a chronic, manageable or even curable condition.

Reviewed by:
Allan C. Halpern, MD
Ashfaq A. Marghoob, MD
Ofer Reiter, MD

Last reviewed: April 2019