新诊断出患有皮肤癌

为您提供皮肤癌信息、指导和支持

您患有皮肤癌

得知您患有皮肤癌可能很困难。您可能会感到沮丧、困惑和/或愤怒。你可能会面临一些让人感到难以承受的决定。您可能想知道下一步该做什么。

好消息是, 你不是一个人. 皮肤癌 是世界上最常见的癌症;数百万人与之抗争。你也可以。您的诊断只是第一步。

通过专注于您可以做的有益的事情,以便处于对抗皮肤癌的最佳位置,您可能会感到内心平静。我们随时为您提供帮助。

知识就是力量

充分了解您的皮肤癌和 你必须与之抗争的选择 可以赋予权力。我们鼓励您通过自我教育、为自己辩护和 保护你的皮肤紫外线 (UV) 辐射 以预防未来的皮肤癌。最重要的是,请记住,健康的生活方式和良好的医疗保健是齐头并进的。

你现在可以做什么

  • 联系医疗保健提供者,包括您的初级保健医生、专家、您的牙医和药剂师,告知他们您的诊断和治疗。这有助于提供者为您的持续护理做出明智的决定。
  • 问问题。 与您的医生交谈时,请记下笔记并确保您完全了解您的治疗选择。询问手术、您是否需要整形外科医生、治疗副作用以及恢复期间会发生什么。检查我们的 皮肤癌患者的注意事项 以获得更多有用的提示。
  • 寻找支持 你需要应付。我们希望您与您的医疗保健团队讨论营养、锻炼、放松或缓解压力的活动、睡眠需求等。在线联系皮肤癌社区以获得同行支持。检查我们的 支持资源 页面,查看可能提供帮助的组织列表。
  • 深吸一口气。 你比你想象的要坚强,你会度过难关的。请参阅下文,了解与皮肤癌作斗争并希望为您提供支持的人们的建议。

了解您的皮肤癌类型

理解 皮肤癌的类型 您将决定您的治疗和康复情况。在此处获取有关皮肤癌类型的更多信息:

下载我们的皮肤癌信息 PDF

皮肤癌常见问题解答

为什么我会得皮肤癌?

皮肤癌的两个主要原因是太阳的有害物质 紫外线 (UV) 并使用紫外线 制革 床。好消息是这些 风险因素 可以由你控制 保护你的皮肤。除了紫外线照射之外,与皮肤癌相关的危险因素还包括 皮肤类型 (浅色皮肤和眼睛的人患皮肤癌的风险较高) 遗传基因 (大约十分之一的黑色素瘤患者的家庭成员有该病史) 非典型痣 由于药物或健康状况而导致免疫系统减弱。

我有哪些治疗选择?

皮肤癌治疗的术语可能会令人困惑。我们的皮肤癌治疗页面提供了有关每种选择的经过医生审查的信息,并以易于理解的方式编写。选择各不相同,并且具体取决于您所患皮肤癌的类型以及您的整体健康状况等。因此,请务必查看与您的诊断相符的治疗页面:

基底细胞癌的治疗

黑色素瘤治疗

默克尔细胞癌治疗

鳞状细胞癌治疗

晚期鳞状细胞癌治疗

罕见皮肤癌信息和治疗

皮肤癌治疗词汇

为新确诊患者进行莫氏手术

最重要的是,为自己辩护!请务必与您的医疗团队详细讨论您的治疗选择,并要求澄清任何您不确定的事情。

皮肤癌手术痛苦吗?

请务必在手术前与您的外科医生讨论疼痛情况;提出问题并做笔记。您的皮肤癌类型或阶段可能会影响重建期间的疼痛程度。根据伤口的大小和位置,可以使用以下方法进行修复 皮瓣手术. 如果是更具侵袭性的皮肤癌,可能需要更广泛或更深的切除,可能会出现更多的疼痛 重建 完成闭合伤口。

疼痛耐受性有时受到患者年龄、性别和遗传等因素的影响。例如,与成人相比,幼儿的疼痛阈值可能较低。女性可能比男性对疼痛更敏感。压力和患者的期望也可能发挥作用。手术前承受高压力的患者和预计会出现剧烈疼痛的患者可能会报告更多的疼痛。总体而言,患者对疼痛的感受各不相同;医生很难概括您的感受。

我会留疤吗?

如果您的皮肤癌在很小的时候得到早期治疗,您可能不会留下明显的疤痕。如果您需要手术去除它,您可能最终会留下某种疤痕。重要的是要知道手术期间产生的伤口通常会比您预期的要大。可能存在从表面看不到的癌症延伸或“根源”,但在手术过程中会发现,需要切除更多组织。
无论如何,你的疤痕是勇气的徽章,展示了你自己皮肤的治愈能力。学习 更多关于疤痕的信息 点击此处。

我必须尽快治疗皮肤癌吗?

简短的回答是肯定的。 我们的专家同意 当您被诊断患有皮肤癌时,时间至关重要,这意味着您应该尽早接受治疗。皮肤癌病情严重,治疗刻不容缓。

黑色素瘤: 当治疗延迟时,黑色素瘤可能具有侵袭性和致命性。一项研究 JAMA皮肤科 研究发现,在活检后 30 天内接受治疗的黑色素瘤患者比等待治疗的患者有更好的结果。

非黑色素瘤皮肤癌: 如果您被诊断患有基底细胞癌 (BCC) 或鳞状细胞癌 (SCC) 并且需要手术切除,那么最好在肿瘤还小时进行手术。虽然基底细胞癌通常生长缓慢,但它们可能会出血、结痂且难看,并深入局部组织。如果不及时治疗,它们会吃掉肌肉,甚至骨头,这会使手术变得更加困难并毁容。鳞状细胞癌可以附着在局部淋巴结上并扩散到某些器官,并且可能致命。最新数据表明,每年死于鳞状细胞癌的人数大约是死于黑色素瘤的人数的两倍。

我的孩子会患皮肤癌吗?

虽然皮肤癌是世界上最常见的癌症,但它在儿童中并不常见,只有大约 300新病例 在美国每年都有皮肤癌发生,但儿童和青少年也可能发生皮肤癌。

事实上,黑色素瘤是一种危险的皮肤癌,是 15 至 29 岁人群中第二常见的癌症。 风险因素 儿童黑色素瘤 包括遗传倾向和家族史。

其他风险因素包括白皙的皮肤和高水平的 紫外线 (UV) 辐射 暴露——特别是在生命早期暴露在强烈的阳光下。

知道要寻找什么并及早发现皮肤癌至关重要。每月皮肤自我检查可以帮助孩子和他们的父母留意任何事情 新的、变化的或不寻常的如果您的孩子有一个地方看起来不太对劲, 检查一下 由医生。 这 更早发现皮肤癌,越容易治疗和治愈

我的皮肤癌会复发吗?

有很多因素会影响您的皮肤癌是否会复发,包括您患有哪种皮肤癌、检测和治疗的早期程度以及治疗该癌症的方法。 获取更多信息 来自我们的专家。

60 年的一项研究表明,大约 10% 患有一种皮肤癌的人会在 2015 年内被诊断出患有第二种皮肤癌。 JAMA皮肤科。如果您患有一种类型的皮肤癌,统计数据显示您也面临其他类型皮肤癌的风险,包括 黑色素瘤,这可能会危及生命。获取有关患有皮肤癌的信息 多于一次.

皮肤癌战士分享他们的故事

凯蒂向所有皮肤癌战士传达的信息是:“为自己做事。设定健康的界限。练习防晒安全。社交媒体上有很多人支持你。你有这个!”

“尽你所能寻求最好的帮助。”路易斯被诊断出患有默克尔细胞癌,这是一种罕见的侵袭性皮肤癌。他和他的医生为新诊断出 MCC 的患者提供建议。

晚期皮肤癌

由于公众意识的提高和技术的进步 早期检测,当今的皮肤癌通常在早期就被诊断和治疗。尽管如此,任何类型的皮肤癌,无论是常见还是罕见,都可能生长、扩散并变得危险,甚至危及生命。

如果您被诊断出患有任何形式的晚期皮肤癌,无论是基底细胞癌、鳞状细胞癌、黑色素瘤还是默克尔细胞癌,您都应该询问您的皮肤科医生是否需要去看肿瘤内科医生。晚期皮肤癌通常需要多学科的医疗保健团队。

请查看下面的链接,了解有关晚期皮肤癌患者的更多信息和资源。

皮肤癌支持资源

诊断皮肤癌可能会给身体、情感和经济上带来挑战。 你不是一个人。 我们的 罗宾斯巢 计划为您提供精心挑选的组织列表,这些组织提供保险、医疗保健费用、交通、应对支持和皮肤癌诊断引起的其他问题方面的帮助。

知更鸟巢颜色-600x526

上次更新时间:2024年XNUMX月

捐献
找皮肤科医生

推荐产品

Newly Diagnosed with Skin Cancer

Skin Cancer Information, Guidance & Support for You

You Have Skin Cancer

It can be difficult to learn that you have skin cancer. You may feel frustrated, confused and/or angry. You could be facing decisions that feel overwhelming. You might be wondering what to do next.

The good news is that you are not alone. Skin cancer is the world’s most common cancer; millions of people have battled it. And so can you. Your diagnosis is simply the first step.

You may find peace of mind by focusing on the beneficial things you can do to be in the best position to fight skin cancer. We’re here to help you every step of the way.

Knowledge Is Power

Being well-informed about your skin cancer and the options you have to fight it can be empowering. We encourage you to be proactive by educating yourself, advocating for yourself and protecting your skin from ultraviolet (UV) radiation to prevent future skin cancers. Above all, remember that a healthy lifestyle and good health care go hand in hand.

What You Can Do Now

  • Contact health care providers, including your primary care physician, specialists, your dentist and pharmacist to inform them of your diagnosis and treatments. This helps providers make informed decisions for your ongoing care.
  • Ask questions. When speaking to your doctors, take notes and make sure that you fully understand your treatment options. Ask about surgery, whether you will need a plastic surgeon, treatment side effects and what to expect during recovery. Check our Do’s and Don’ts for Skin Cancer Patients for more helpful tips.
  • Find the support you need to cope. We hope you will discuss nutrition, exercise, relaxation or stress-relieving activities, sleep needs and more with your health care team. Reach out to skin cancer communities online for peer support. Check our support resources page for a list of organizations that may be able to help.
  • Take a deep breath. You’re stronger than you think, and you will get through this. See below for advice from people who have battled skin cancer and want to support you.

Know your skin cancer type

Understanding the type of skin cancer you have will determine what your treatment and recovery will look like. Get more information on the types of skin cancers here:

Download Our Skin Cancer Information PDF

Skin Cancer FAQs

Why did I get skin cancer?

The two main causes of skin cancer are the sun’s harmful ultraviolet (UV) rays and using UV tanning beds. The good news is that these risk factors can be controlled by you, by protecting your skin. In addition to UV exposure, risk factors associated with skin cancer including skin type (people with light skin and eyes have a higher skin cancer risk) genetics (about one in every 10 patients diagnosed with melanoma has a family member with a history of the disease) having atypical moles and having a weakened immune system due to medications or medical condition.

What are my treatment options?

The terminology around skin cancer treatment can be confusing. Our skin cancer treatment pages provide physician-reviewed information about each option, written in a way that is easy to understand. Options vary and are specific to the type of skin cancer you have, and your overall health, among other things. So be sure to review the treatment page that matches your diagnosis:

Basal Cell Carcinoma Treatment

Melanoma Treatment

Merkel Cell Carcinoma Treatment

Squamous Cell Carcinoma Treatment

Advanced Squamous Cell Carcinoma Treatment

Rare Skin Cancer Information & Treatment

Skin Cancer Treatment Glossary

Mohs Surgery for the Newly Diagnosed

Above all, advocate for yourself! Be sure to speak with your medical team in detail about your treatment options, and ask for clarification on anything you are uncertain about.

Is skin cancer surgery painful?

Be sure to discuss pain with your surgeon before the procedure; ask questions and take notes. Your type or stage of skin cancer can affect your pain level during reconstruction. Depending on the size and location of the wound, the repair may be done using flap surgery. In the case of a more aggressive skin cancer where a wider or deeper removal may be required, there can be more pain associated with the reconstruction done to close the wound.

Pain tolerance is sometimes influenced by factors including the patient’s age, geneder and genetics. For example, a young child may have a lower pain threshold compared to an adult. Women may report more sensitivity to pain than men. Stress and patient expectations can also play a role. Patients experiencing a high level of stress prior to surgery and those anticipating severe pain may report more pain. Overall, how a patient experiences pain varies; it’s hard for physicians to generalize how you’ll feel.

Will I have a scar?

If your skin cancer is treated early on, when it’s small, you may not have a noticeable scar. If you need surgery to remove it, you probably will end up with some kind of scar. It’s important to know that the wound that will be created during surgery will often be larger than you may expect. There may be extensions, or “roots,” of the cancer that are not visible from the surface that will be discovered during surgery, requiring the removal of more tissue.
No matter what, your scar is a badge of courage and demonstrates the healing power of your own skin. Learn more about scars here.

Do I have to get my skin cancer treated quickly?

The short answer is yes. Our experts agree that when you’ve been diagnosed with a skin cancer, time is of the essence, meaning you should get treated as early as possible. Skin cancer is serious and treatment should not be delayed.

Melanoma: Melanoma can be invasive and deadly when treatment is delayed. A study in JAMA Dermatology found that melanoma patients treated within 30 days of the biopsy had a better outcome than those who waited.

Nonmelanoma skin cancers: If you are diagnosed with basal cell carcinoma (BCC) or squamous cell carcinoma (SCC)and need surgery to remove it, it’s always better to do it when it’s small. While BCCs often grow slowly, they may bleed, get scabby and unsightly, and invade deep into local tissue. Left untreated, they can eat through muscle, even bone, and that can make surgery more difficult and disfiguring. SCCs can attach themselves to local lymph nodes and spread to some organs, and can become deadly. The latest figures suggest that each year, about twice as many people die from SCC than from melanoma.

Will my children get skin cancer?

While skin cancer is the world’s most common cancer, it is uncommon in children, with only about 300 new cases per year in the U.S. But skin cancer can occur in children and adolescents.

In fact, melanoma, a dangerous form of skin cancer, is the second most common cancer in people aged 15 to 29. Risk factors for childhood melanoma include genetic predisposition and family history.

Additional risk factors include light skin and a high level of ultraviolet (UV) radiation exposure — specifically, intense sun exposure early in life.

Knowing what to look for, and detecting skin cancer early is crucial. Monthly skin self-exams help children and their parents get keep an eye out for anything new, changing or unusualIf your child has a spot that just doesn’t seem right, have it checked by a physician. The earlier a skin cancer is detected, the easier it is to treat and cure

Will my skin cancer come back?

There are many factors that contribute to whether or not your skin cancer will return, including what kind of skin cancer you have, how early it was detected and treated, and the method used to treat that cancer. Get more information from our expert.

About 60 percent of people who have had one skin cancer will be diagnosed with a second one within 10 years, says a 2015 study in JAMA Dermatology. If you’ve had one type of skin cancer, statistics show you are also at risk for the other types, including melanoma, which can be life-threatening. Get information about having skin cancer more than once.

Skin Cancer Warriors Share their Stories

Katie’s message to all skin cancer warriors: “Do things for yourself. Set healthy boundaries. Practice sun safety. You have so many people on social media to support you. You’ve got this!”

“Find the best help that you can.” Luis was diagnosed with Merkel cell carcinoma, a rare, aggressive skin cancer. He and his physician offer advice for people newly diagnosed with MCC.

Advanced Skin Cancers

Thanks to increased public awareness and advances in early detection, skin cancers today are often diagnosed and treated in the early stage. Still, any type of skin cancer, whether common or rare, can grow, spread and become dangerous or even life-threatening.

If you are diagnosed with any form of skin cancer that becomes advanced, whether it’s a BCC, SCC, melanoma or Merkel cell carcinoma, you should always ask your dermatologist if you need to see a medical oncologist. Advanced skin cancers often require a multidisciplinary health care team.

Check the links below for more information and resources for patients with advanced skin cancers.

Skin Cancer Support Resources

A skin cancer diagnosis can be physically, emotionally and financially challenging. You’re not alone. Our Robins Nest program provides you with a carefully curated list of organizations that offer assistance with insurance, health care costs, transportation, coping support and other issues that arise with a skin cancer diagnosis.

Robins-Nest-Color-600x526

Last updated: May 2024

Make a Donation
Find a Dermatologist

Recommended Products