紫外线辐射 & 你的皮肤

事实。 风险。 他们如何影响你。

当演变成 皮肤癌, 一个主要的 风险因素 长时间接触 紫外线 (UV) 辐射。

了解紫外线辐射及其对皮肤的损害是保护自己免受皮肤癌侵害的重要的第一步。

好消息是, 您可以 大大减少 紫外线辐射带来的危险。 您可以通过采取简单、明智的方式享受户外活动并降低患皮肤癌的风险 保护措施.

什么是紫外线辐射?

紫外线辐射是太阳产生的自然能量的一部分。 在电磁波谱中,紫外线的波长比可见光短,因此您的眼睛看不到紫外线,但您的皮肤可以感觉到。 日光浴床也会发出紫外线辐射。

两种类型的紫外线已被证明会增加患皮肤癌的风险:

  • 紫外线A (UVA) 具有更长的波长。 它与皮肤有关 老化。
  • 紫外线B (UVB) 的波长较短。 它与皮肤有关 燃烧.

虽然 UVA 和 UVB 射线对皮肤的影响不同,但它们都会造成伤害。 无保护地暴露于 UVA 和 UVB 会损害皮肤细胞中的 DNA,产生遗传缺陷或突变,从而导致 皮肤癌 和早衰。 紫外线也会导致 眼睛损伤,包括白内障和眼睑癌.

什么是利害攸关?

紫外线辐射是一种已证实的人类致癌物,导致 基底细胞癌 (BCC)鳞状细胞癌 (SCC)。  这些类型的癌症通常出现在暴露在阳光下的皮肤区域。 幸运的是,如果及早发现和治疗,这些常见的皮肤癌通常是可以治愈的。

紫外线照射会导致 晒斑 事实证明在发展中发挥了重要作用 黑色素瘤,一种危险的皮肤癌。 研究表明,破坏皮肤的紫外线还可以改变抑制肿瘤的基因,从而增加晒伤皮肤细胞发展成皮肤癌的风险。

你需要知道什么

  • 大多数非黑色素瘤皮肤癌 (NMSC) 和大部分黑色素瘤与暴露于太阳紫外线辐射有关。
  • 紫外线照射是一种强大的攻击 对皮肤造成损害,范围从过早出现皱纹到危险的皮肤癌。
  • 紫外线照射造成的伤害是累积的 并随着时间的推移增加患皮肤癌的风险。 虽然您的身体可以修复皮肤细胞中的部分 DNA 损伤,但无法修复所有损伤。 未修复的损伤会随着时间的推移而累积,并引发突变,导致皮肤细胞迅速繁殖。 这可能导致恶性肿瘤。
  • 损坏程度 取决于紫外线的强度和您的皮肤在没有保护的情况下暴露的时间长短。 位置也是一个因素。 紫外线指数 测量特定位置的紫外线辐射强度。 如果你住在全年阳光充足的地方,你的暴露水平和风险就会增加。
  • 你可以很容易地减少 你患皮肤癌的可能性 保护自己 抗紫外线辐射。

UVB 事实和风险

  • UVB 渗透并损坏皮肤的最外层。 过度曝光导致晒黑, 晒斑 并且,在严重的情况下,起泡。
  • UVB 与标签上的防晒系数 (SPF) 相关联 防晒 产品。 SPF 值告诉您使用该产品与不使用防晒霜相比,太阳辐射(包括一些 UVA)使您的皮肤变红需要多长时间。
  • UVB 强度波动。 虽然太阳光线最强,在温带气候下从春季到秋季的上午晚些时候到下午中午构成最高风险,而在热带气候下时间跨度甚至更长,但 UVB 射线全年都会损害您的皮肤,尤其是在高海拔地区或反光区表面如雪或冰。
  • UVB 射线可以被过滤,不会穿透玻璃。

UVA 事实和风险

  • 紫外线 射线原因 制革,而较短波长的 UVA 也会导致晒伤。 没有安全或健康的棕褐色。 事实证明,UVA 辐射会导致皮肤癌的发展。
  • 紫外线 与你在防晒产品标签上看到的“广谱保护”有关。 早期的防晒霜只能保护您的皮肤免受 UVB 射线的伤害,但一旦了解 UVA 射线的危险性,防晒霜制造商便开始添加成分来保护您免受更广泛光谱中的 UVB 和 UVA 的伤害。
  • 紫外线 射线虽然强度略低于 UVB,但能更深入地穿透您的皮肤。 接触会导致皮肤表层最内层的细胞发生遗传损伤,大多数皮肤癌都发生在该处。 皮肤试图通过变黑来防止进一步的损伤,从而导致晒黑。 随着时间的推移,UVA 还会导致过早衰老和皮肤癌。
  • 紫外线 辐射是大多数日光浴床使用的主要光线类型。 曾经被认为是安全的,我们现在知道它恰恰相反。
  • UVA无处不在. UVA 占到达地球的紫外线辐射的 95%。 这些光线在全年白天保持相同的强度水平。 这意味着在一生中,我们都会暴露在高水平的 UVA 射线下。
  • UVA可以穿透 窗口和云层。

保护你自己!

尽管存在风险因素,您仍可以通过以下方式安全、愉快地享受户外活动 保护你的皮肤 对抗紫外线照射 广谱防晒霜 和防晒 衣着, 帽子和 眼镜. 你也可以考虑 紫外线窗膜 为您的家和汽车。

让它成为一种生活方式。 每天保护自己,即使是阴天。 完全避免在室内晒黑。 在此处获取更多详细信息: 您的日常防晒指南.

点评人:
安娜·简,医学博士
海蒂雅各布,医学博士

最后更新: 2021年八月

太阳与皮肤新闻

捐献
找皮肤科医生

推荐产品

UV Radiation & Your Skin

The Facts. The Risks. How They Affect You.

When it comes to skin cancer, a major risk factor is prolonged exposure to ultraviolet (UV) radiation.

Understanding UV radiation and how it damages your skin is an important first step in  safeguarding yourself against skin cancer.

The good news is that you can greatly reduce the danger posed by UV radiation. You can enjoy outdoor activities and limit your skin cancer risk by taking simple, smart protective measures.

What is UV radiation?

UV radiation is part of the natural energy produced by the sun. On the electromagnetic spectrum, UV light has shorter wavelengths than visible light, so your eyes can’t see UV, but your skin can feel it. Tanning beds also emit UV radiation.

Two types of UV light are proven to contribute to the risk for skin cancer:

  • Ultraviolet A (UVA) has a longer wavelength. It is associated with skin aging.
  • Ultraviolet B (UVB) has a shorter wavelength. It is associated with skin burning.

While UVA and UVB rays differ in how they affect the skin, they both do harm. Unprotected exposure to UVA and UVB damages the DNA in skin cells, producing genetic defects, or mutations, that can lead to skin cancer and premature aging. UV rays can also cause eye damage, including cataracts and eyelid cancers.

What is at stake?

UV radiation is a proven human carcinogen, causing basal cell carcinoma (BCC) and squamous cell carcinoma (SCC).  These types of cancers often appear on sun-exposed areas of skin. Fortunately, when discovered and treated early, these common skin cancers are usually curable.

UV exposure that leads to sunburn has proven to play a strong role in developing melanoma, a dangerous type of skin cancer. Research shows that the UV rays that damage skin can also alter a gene that suppresses tumors, raising the risk of sun-damaged skin cells developing into skin cancer.

What you need to know

  • A majority of nonmelanoma skin cancers (NMSC) and a large percentage of melanomas are associated with exposure to UV radiation from the sun.
  • UV exposure is a powerful attack on the skin, creating damage that can range from premature wrinkles to dangerous skin cancer.
  • Damage from UV exposure is cumulative and increases your skin cancer risk over time. While your body can repair some of the DNA damage in skin cells, it can’t repair all of it. The unrepaired damage builds up over time and triggers mutations that cause skin cells to multiply rapidly. That can lead to malignant tumors.
  • The degree of damage depends on the intensity of UV rays and the length of time your skin has been exposed without protection. Location is also a factor. The UV index measures the intensity of UV radiation at a specific location. If you live where the sun is strong year-round, your exposure level and risk increases.
  • You can easily reduce your likelihood of developing skin cancer by protecting yourself against UV radiation.

UVB facts and risks

  • UVB penetrates and damages the outermost layers of your skin. Overexposure causes suntan, sunburn and, in severe cases, blistering.
  • UVB is connected to the Sun Protection Factor (SPF) on labels of sunscreen products. The SPF number tells you how long the sun’s radiation (including some of the UVA) would take to redden your skin when using that product compared to the time without sunscreen.
  • UVB intensity fluctuates. While the sun’s rays are strongest and pose the highest risk late-morning to mid-afternoon from spring to fall in temperate climates and even greater timespans in tropical climates, UVB rays can damage your skin year-round, especially at high altitudes or on reflective surfaces like snow or ice.
  • UVB rays can be filtered and do not penetrate glass.

UVA facts and risks

  • UVA rays cause tanning, and the shorter wavelengths of UVA also cause sunburn. There is no such thing as a safe or healthy tan. UVA radiation is proven to contribute to the development of skin cancer.
  • UVA is connected to the “broad-spectrum protection” you see on the labels of sunscreen products. Early sunscreens only protected your skin from UVB rays, but once it was understood how dangerous UVA rays were, sunscreen manufacturers began adding ingredients to protect you from both UVB and UVA across this broader spectrum.
  • UVA rays, while slightly less intense than UVB, penetrate your skin more deeply. Exposure causes genetic damage to cells on the innermost part of your top layer of skin, where most skin cancers occur. The skin tries to prevent further damage by darkening, resulting in a tan. Over time, UVA also leads to premature aging and skin cancer.
  • UVA radiation is the main type of light used in most tanning beds. Once thought to be safe, we now know it is just the opposite.
  • UVA is everywhere. UVA accounts for up to 95 percent of the UV radiation reaching the earth. These rays maintain the same level of strength during daylight hours throughout the year. This means that during a lifetime, we are all exposed to a high level of UVA rays.
  • UVA can penetrate windows and cloud cover.

Protect yourself!

Despite the risk factors, you can safely, happily enjoy the great outdoors by protecting your skin against UV exposure with broad-spectrum sunscreen and sun-safe clothing, hats and eyewear. You can also consider UV window film for your home and car.

Make it a way of life. Protect yourself every day, even when it’s cloudy. Avoid indoor tanning entirely. Get more details here: Your Daily Sun Protection Guide.

Reviewed by:
Anna Chien, MD
Heidi Jacobe, MD

Last updated: August 2021

Sun & Skin News

Make a Donation
Find a Dermatologist

Recommended Products

Visit Website for Medical Providers