感光性 & 你的皮肤

这是什么。 它如何影响你。 你可以做什么。

无论您的皮肤类型如何,如果您开发 光敏性,您可能特别容易遭受持久的皮肤损伤,并且 皮肤癌 从甚至有限的接触 紫外线 (UV) 辐射.

了解什么是光敏性及其发生的原因将有助于您格外小心以保护您的皮肤健康。

不是每个人都会产生光敏性。 但是,如果你有更高的风险,你最好的选择是采取措施来防止对阳光敏感的反应发生。

什么是光敏性?

光敏性是当您的皮肤暴露于 紫外线辐射 从阳光或晒黑床。 您可能因处方药或非处方药而变得光敏 药物治疗,以 医疗条件 或遗传疾病,甚至通过使用某些类型的护肤品。 有两种不同类型的光敏反应: 光过敏光毒的.

光毒反应

这是最常见的反应,通常发生在您正在服用的药物(无论是口服还是外用)暴露在紫外线下会被激活,并对皮肤造成损伤,看起来和感觉起来都像晒伤或皮疹。 这也可能由护肤品中的某些成分引发。 光毒性反应可在暴露后数分钟或数小时后发生,并且通常仅限于已暴露的皮肤。

光过敏反应

这种反应不太常见,当紫外线与直接涂在皮肤上的药物或其他产品中的成分相互作用时,就会发生这种反应。 身体的免疫系统将日晒引起的变化识别为外来威胁。 身体产生抗体和攻击,引起反应。 光过敏反应会使您在使用并暴露在阳光下一到三天后出现皮疹、水泡、红肿块甚至渗出性病变。

什么导致光敏性?

你可以成为 光敏的 从:

  • 药物:一些广泛使用的药物,包括抗生素、非甾体类抗炎药 (NSAIDS)、抗组胺药和某些心脏药物以及用于降低胆固醇的他汀类药物,会使您对阳光比平时更加​​敏感。 阳光致敏药物也会加重现有的皮肤状况。 检查这个 详细的药物清单 与光敏反应有关。
  • 疾病和医疗状况:某些医疗状况和失调,包括狼疮等自身免疫性疾病,会使您对紫外线过敏。 查看我们的报告 查看可导致光敏性的疾病和病症列表。
  • 护肤品:您用来使皮肤看起来更好的产品中的某些成分,如视黄醇、乙醇酸或过氧化苯甲酰,可去除皮肤的最外层以对抗细纹或粉刺。 维生素 C 等增白剂可能会减少皮肤中的黑色素,而黑色素是抵御阳光的天然屏障。 这些可能会导致光敏性并增加您因紫外线照射而受损的机会。 使用这些产品时,注意防晒是至关重要的。

为什么这有关系?

光敏性会降低您的天然防御能力,并增加您受到太阳有害射线伤害的风险。 如果您因药物或医疗状况而出现光敏反应,也可能会增加您患上 皮肤癌.

你可以做什么

为了更好地了解光敏性和您的皮肤:

  • 问你的医生 关于与您服用的任何药物或您可能患有的医疗状况相关的风险,以及任何潜在的光敏性可能持续多长时间。
  • 问问你的皮肤科医生 关于您用于抗衰老、亮肤或祛痘的任何护肤品(无论是处方药还是非处方药)对阳光敏感的风险。
  • 阅读警告标签 以及药物、护肤品和补充剂的包装说明书,以了解您的风险。

如果你有反应

  1. 我该如何治疗类似晒伤的光敏反应?
    您可以像对待您一样对待这种类型的光敏反应 治疗晒伤.
  2. 我什么时候应该去看医生?
    如果您出现类似流感的症状,包括发烧伴发冷、恶心、头痛和虚弱,或者如果您的皮肤起水泡,请去看医生。 起泡的晒伤被认为是皮肤的二度烧伤。 这将需要非处方药治疗以外的药物治疗。
  3. 我如何知道我的光敏反应是否由药物引起?
    如果怀疑是药物引起的,则可以完成诊断测试,包括光测试、光斑测试和临床再激发,以确定烧伤是否继发于光敏反应。 一旦诊断出药物引起的光敏性并确定了引起光敏性的药物,如果可能,可以停药。

防晒基础知识

  1. 尽量减少曝光 避免来自太阳的紫外线辐射,尤其是在上午 10 点至下午 4 点的高峰时段,并避免在室内晒黑。 阴影是你的朋友!
  2. 格外小心 保护自己免受阳光照射。 戴宽沿帽和防晒衣。 用一个 广谱防晒霜 在所有暴露的皮肤上使用至少 30 的 SPF。 不要忘记手背,每两个小时重新涂抹一次防晒霜。 使用我们的产品查找防晒产品 推荐印章.
  3. 理解 如何保护你的皮肤: 您的日常防晒指南。
  4. 每月检查你的皮肤每年至少去看一次皮肤科医生 进行专业的皮肤检查。

预防皮肤癌

了解光敏性是皮肤健康综合方法的一个步骤。 确保你了解你所有的 皮肤癌危险因素保护你自己, 每一天。

点评人:
医学博士纳文阿罗拉

最后更新: 2021年XNUMX月

太阳与皮肤新闻

捐献
找皮肤科医生

推荐产品

Photosensitivity & Your Skin

What It Is. How It Affects You. What You Can Do.

No matter your skin type, if you develop photosensitivity, you may be especially at risk for lasting skin damage and skin cancer from even limited exposure to ultraviolet (UV) radiation.

Understanding what photosensitivity is and why it occurs will help you take extra care to safeguard your skin health.

Not everyone develops photosensitivity. But, if you have a higher risk, your best option is to take steps to prevent a sun-sensitive reaction from happening at all.

What is photosensitivity?

Photosensitivity is heightened skin sensitivity or an unusual reaction when your skin is exposed to UV radiation from sunlight or a tanning bed. You can become photosensitive as a result of prescription or over-the-counter medications, a medical condition or genetic disorder, or even by using certain types of skin care products. There are two distinct types of photosensitivity reactions: photoallergic and phototoxic.

Phototoxic reaction

This is the most common reaction and usually occurs when a drug you’re taking (whether by mouth or topically applied) is activated by exposure to UV light and causes damage to the skin that can look and feel like a sunburn or a rash. This can also be triggered by certain ingredients in skin care products. A phototoxic reaction can happen within minutes or after hours of exposure and is usually limited to the skin that has been exposed.

Photoallergic reaction

This response is far less common and occurs when UV rays interact with the ingredients in medicines or other products applied directly to the skin. The body’s immune system recognizes changes caused by sun exposure as a foreign threat. The body produces antibodies and attacks, causing a reaction. A photoallergic reaction can leave you with a rash, blisters, red bumps or even oozing lesions one to three days after application and exposure to the sun.

What causes photosensitivity?

You can become photosensitive from:

  • Medications: Some widely used medications, including antibiotics, nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDS), antihistamines and certain heart medicines and statins for lowering cholesterol, can make you far more sensitive to sunlight than you’d usually be. Sun-sensitizing drugs can also aggravate existing skin conditions. Check this detailed list of medications that have been connected with photosensitivity reactions.
  • Diseases and medical conditions: Certain medical conditions and disorders, including autoimmune diseases like lupus, can make you hypersensitive to UV rays. Check our report to see a list of diseases and conditions that can cause photosensitivity.
  • Skin-care products: Certain ingredients in products you use to make your skin look better, such as retinols, glycolic acid or benzoyl peroxide, remove the outermost layer of skin to fight fine lines or acne. Brighteners like vitamin C may decrease the melanin in your skin, which acts as a natural defense against the sun’s rays. These may cause photosensitivity and increase your chances of damage from UV exposure. Being diligent about sun protection is crucial while using these products.

Why does it matter?

Photosensitivity reduces your natural defenses and elevates your risk for damage from the sun’s harmful rays. If you have a photosensitivity reaction due to medications or a medical condition, it can also potentially increase your risk of developing skin cancer.

What you can do

To gain a better understanding about photosensitivity and your skin:

  • Ask your doctor about risks associated with any medicines you take or medical conditions you may have and how long any potential photosensitivity might last.
  • Ask your dermatologist about the risks of sun sensitivity from any skin-care products you are using for antiaging, skin brightening or acne, whether prescription or over-the-counter.
  • Read the warning labels and package inserts for your medications, skin-care products and supplements to understand your risks.

If you have a reaction

  1. How do I treat a sunburn-like photosensitive reaction?
    You can treat this type of photosensitivity reaction similar to the way you would treat a sunburn.
  2. When should I see a doctor?
    See your physician if you develop flu-like symptoms, including fever with chills, nausea, headache and weakness, or if your skin blisters. A blistering sunburn is considered a second degree burn of the skin. This will require medical treatment beyond over-the-counter treatments.
  3. How do I know if my photosensitive reaction is drug-induced?
    If a medication is the suspected cause, diagnostic tests, including phototesting, photopatch testing and clinical rechallenge can be completed to determine if the burn was secondary to a photosensitive reaction. Once a diagnosis of a drug-induced photosensitivity is made and the medication that caused it is identified, the medication may be discontinued, if possible.

Sun protection basics

  1. Minimize your exposure to UV radiation from the sun, especially during the peak hours of 10 AM to 4 PM, and avoid indoor tanning. Shade is your friend!
  2. Take extra care to shield yourself from the sun. Wear a broad-brimmed hat and sun-protective clothing. Use a broad-spectrum sunscreen with an SPF of at least 30 on all exposed skin. Don’t forget the backs of your hands and reapply sunscreen every two hours. Find sunscreen products with our Seal of Recommendation.
  3. Understand how to safeguard your skin: Your Daily Sun Protection Guide.
  4. Check your skin monthly and visit a dermatologist at least once a year for a professional skin exam.

Safeguard against skin cancer

Understanding photosensitivity is one step in a comprehensive approach to skin health. Be sure you understand all your skin cancer risk factors and protect yourself, each and every day.

Reviewed by:
Navin Arora, MD

Reviewed: June 2019

Sun & Skin News

When You’re Extra Sensitive to Sunlight: What You Need to Know About Photosensitivity

When Beauty Products Cause Sun Sensitivity

Ask the Expert: Can You Safely Use Sunscreen Around Your Eyes? If so, What Kind Would Be Best?