默克尔细胞癌
病人支持中心

对患者和护理人员的帮助

欢迎光临 默克尔细胞癌 (MCC) 病人支持中心. MCC 的诊断可能在身体、情感和经济上都具有挑战性。 因为它是一种罕见的疾病,您可能很难找到可靠的信息和问题的答案: “接下来我该怎么办?”

你不是一个人。 我们开发此支持中心是为了解决围绕 MCC 的信息鸿沟,并帮助您找到所需的答案。 看看 常见问题解答 下面,并查看精心策划的清单 视频,资源和 支持组织 专注于指导您应对诊断和治疗过程中出现的挑战。

我们意识到这是一个艰难的时期。 有很多信息需要阅读和理解,我们在这里帮助指导这个过程。 如果您有任何问题或疑虑,请通过以下方式与我们联系 info@SkinCancer.org.

常见问题解答

问:我被诊断出患有 MCC,我非常担心。 接下来我该怎么办?

答:首先,虽然 MCC 罕见且危险,但它是可以治疗的。 由于专业医疗保健专业人员的大量工作和研究,MCC 治疗选择和知识激增。

接下来做什么:

对您而言,最重要的事情是到具有 MCC 患者护理专业知识的学术中心寻求治疗。 皮肤科医生、外科医生、内科肿瘤学家和放射肿瘤学家需要协商确定针对特定病例的最佳计划。 重要的是,他们都了解 MCC 的进取心,并且都以简洁的方式与彼此和您沟通。

查找 MCC 治疗中心。

问:在癌症中心考虑多学科护理对 MCC 治疗有多重要?

A: “这很重要,有几个原因。 根据您的数据来源,MCC 的致死率是黑色素瘤的三到五倍,因此这是一个严重的诊断。 而且,由于它的稀有性,很多医生都不熟悉所指示的具体护理。 许多教科书中都没有更新信息,因为 MCC 管理在过去 10 到 XNUMX 年里发展如此迅速。 去一个真正提供专家多学科护理的地方非常重要。” – Paul Nghiem,医学博士,博士

Nghiem 博士是西雅图癌症护理联盟皮肤肿瘤学临床项目主任和华盛顿大学医学院皮肤科主任。 Nghiem 博士被认为是美国最重要的 MCC 专家之一,他孜孜不倦地致力于促进研究和合作,为 MCC 患者创造更好的结果。

问:专家对从诊断到治疗的时间有何建议?

答:“当 MCC 的诊断出现时,大多数医生和患者很快意识到这是需要认真对待的事情。 MCC 具有侵略性和危险性,我们当然希望让人们在两周内进行评估、扫描和治疗——以获得一个好的计划并付诸行动。 但重要的是不要着急; 在你跳之前了解事实。” – Paul Nghiem,医学博士,博士

问:什么是默克尔细胞多瘤病毒?

答:默克尔细胞多瘤病毒的证据可以在大约 80% 的默克尔细胞肿瘤中找到。 该病毒于 2008 年被发现,存在于大多数人的皮肤中,没有体征和症状,也从未发展成 MCC。 由于这种病毒很常见,而 MCC 极为罕见,科学家们不确定这种病毒如何或为何导致某些人患病。

您的护理团队可以通过执行 AMERK 生物标志物血液测试来确定病毒是否是您的 MCC 的原因。 还定期进行该测试以检查抗体的增加,以帮助及早发现复发,届时肿瘤将更有效地治疗。 学到更多 此处.

问:MCC 有多稀有?

答:MCC 比黑色素瘤罕见约 40 倍。 在美国,每年大约诊断出 3,000 例新的 MCC 病例。 在过去十年中,随着我们对 MCC 的了解越来越多,诊断出的病例数量急剧增加。

是什么导致默克尔细胞癌?

“如果你的免疫系统持续受到抑制,你患 MCC 的可能性就会增加 15 倍。”

医学博士 Sunandana Chandra
医学肿瘤学家
西北大学(Northwestern University)

MCC 患者感染 COVID-19 的风险更高吗?

“MCC 可能具有侵略性,出于对病毒的恐惧而延迟治疗可能不是一个可行的选择。”

医学博士 Sunandana Chandra
医学肿瘤学家
西北大学(Northwestern University)

MCC 治疗

Inderjit Mehmi 博士谈论默克尔细胞癌的治疗。

医学博士 Inderjit Mehmi
医学肿瘤学家
安吉利斯诊所和研究所
雪松 - 西奈

Mehmi 博士谈论免疫疗法。

MCC 治疗见解

“令人兴奋的新疗法正在出现。”

医学博士 Sandra D'Angelo
临床肿瘤学家
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

默克尔细胞诊断后的生活

医学博士 Inderjit Mehmi 在被诊断出患有 MCC 后分享了关于生活的重要见解。

医学博士 Inderjit Mehmi
医学肿瘤学家
安吉利斯诊所和研究所
雪松 - 西奈

路易斯的 MCC 之旅

当路易斯发现自己患有默克尔细胞癌(一种罕见的皮肤癌)时,他下定决心要战胜它。 他分享了他从诊断到治疗的痛苦历程。

MCC 支持资源

MerkelCell.org网站

MerkelCell.org 由从事 MCC 工作的医生和研究人员创建,旨在回答常见问题并提供有关该疾病的准确信息。

网站: 默克尔细胞网
邮件: mccteam@uw.edu
病人资源: merkelcell.org/resources/patient-resources/
查找 MCC 专家: merkelcell.org/resources/find-a-specialist/


患者倡导者基金会

Patient Advocate Foundation 为 MCC 患者提供基金。 一旦获得批准,该基金将提供 450 美元的一次性援助,以支付与治疗预约相关的交通相关费用。 符合条件的患者包括正在接受积极治疗、在过去六个月内接受过治疗或将在未来 60 天内接受治疗的患者。 每个患者都必须满足家庭收入准则并提供诊断文件才能完成申请。

网站: www.patientadvocate.org/connect-with-services/financial-aid-funds/


默克尔细胞癌西雅图支持小组

这个支持小组是一个灵活、开放的讨论小组,位于华盛顿州西雅图,面向任何与默克尔细胞癌 (MCC) 接触的人,包括患者、配偶、家人和朋友。 这是与其他应对 MCC 的人会面、分享故事和信息、回答问题和提供支持的非正式机会。 他们拥有第一手的知识和经验,可以分享有关治疗、临床研究试验和应对 MCC 的知识和经验。

网站: sites.google.com/site/merkelcellcarcinomaseattle/home

美国的 MCC 治疗中心

亚利桑那

阿肯色州

加利福尼亚州

康涅狄格

哥伦比亚特区/华盛顿特区

佛罗里达

格鲁吉亚

伊利诺伊

马里兰州

马萨诸塞

密歇根州

明尼苏达

密苏里州

新泽西州

纽约

宾夕法尼亚

俄勒冈

俄亥俄州

北卡罗来纳

宾夕法尼亚

田纳西

德州

犹他州

弗吉尼亚州

华盛顿

最后更新: 2022年八月

太阳与皮肤新闻

捐献
找皮肤科医生

推荐产品

Merkel Cell Carcinoma
Patient Support Center

Help for Patients & Caregivers

Welcome to the Merkel Cell Carcinoma (MCC) Patient Support Center. A diagnosis of MCC can be physically, emotionally and financially challenging. Because it is such a rare disease, you may be struggling to find reliable information and answers to the question: “What should I do next?”

You’re not alone. We’ve developed this support center to address the information gap around MCC, and help you find the answers you are looking for. Take a look at the Frequently Asked Questions below, and review the carefully curated list of videos, resources and support organizations that focus on guiding you through the challenges that arise during your diagnosis and treatment.

We realize that this is a difficult time. There is a lot of information to read and understand, and we are here to help guide the process. If you have any questions or concerns, please reach out to us at info@SkinCancer.org.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: I’ve been diagnosed with MCC and I am very concerned. What should I do next?

A: First and foremost, while MCC is rare and dangerous, it is treatable. Due to a tremendous amount of work and research by dedicated health-care professionals, MCC treatment options and knowledge have surged.

What to do next:

The most important thing for you to do is to seek treatment at an academic center with specialized expertise in caring for people with MCC. Dermatologists, surgeons, medical oncologists and radiation oncologists need to confer to determine the best plan for a given case. It is important that they all understand the aggressiveness of MCC and all communicate with each other and you in a concise manner.

Find an MCC treatment center.

Q: How important is it to consider multidisciplinary care at a cancer center for MCC treatment?

A: “It’s so important, for several reasons. Depending on your sources of data, MCC is three to five times more deadly than melanoma, so it’s a serious diagnosis. And, due to its rarity, a lot of physicians are not familiar with the specific care that’s indicated. Updated information is not in many textbooks because MCC management has been so rapidly evolving over the past five to 10 years. Going to a place that truly offers expert multidisciplinary care is very important.” – Paul Nghiem, MD, PhD

Dr. Nghiem is director of the Skin Oncology Clinical Program at the Seattle Cancer Care Alliance and head of Dermatology at the University of Washington School of Medicine. Considered one of the foremost experts on MCC in the U.S., Dr. Nghiem has worked tirelessly to promote research and collaboration to create better outcomes for MCC patients.

Q: What do specialists advise about timing from diagnosis to treatment?

A: “When the diagnosis of MCC comes up, most doctors and patients quickly realize this is something to take seriously. MCC is aggressive and dangerous, and we certainly like to get people into evaluation, scans and treatment within, say, two weeks — to get a good plan and act on it. But it is important not to rush; get the facts before you jump.” – Paul Nghiem, MD, PhD

Q: What is the Merkel cell polyomavirus?

A: Evidence of the Merkel cell polyomavirus can be found in about 80 percent of Merkel cell tumors. The virus, discovered in 2008, lives in the skin of most people, without signs and symptoms, and without ever developing into MCC. Since the virus is common and MCC is extremely rare, scientists are uncertain about how or why the virus causes the disease in some people.

Your care team can identify whether the virus is the cause of your MCC by administering the AMERK biomarker blood test. The test is also administered at intervals to check for increases in antibodies, to help detect recurrences early, when the tumor will be more effectively treatable. Learn more here.

Q: How rare is MCC?

A: MCC is about 40 times more rare than melanoma. Each year in the U.S., approximately 3,000 new cases of MCC are diagnosed. The number of cases diagnosed has increased dramatically as we have learned more about MCC in the past decade.

MCC Treatment Insights

“Exciting new therapies are emerging.”

Sandra D’Angelo, MD
Clinical Oncologist
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

Luis's MCC Journey

When Luis found out he had Merkel cell carcinoma, a rare form of skin cancer, he was determined to beat it. He shares his harrowing journey from diagnosis to treatment.

MCC Support Resources

MerkelCell.org

MerkelCell.org was created by physicians and researchers who work on MCC to answer frequently asked questions and provide accurate information about this disease.

Website: merkelcell.org
Email: mccteam@uw.edu
Patient resources: merkelcell.org/resources/patient-resources/
Find an MCC specialist: merkelcell.org/resources/find-a-specialist/


Patient Advocate Foundation

The Patient Advocate Foundation offers a fund for patients with MCC. Once approved, the fund provides one-time assistance of $450 to cover transportation-related expenses connected to treatment appointments. Eligible patients include those who are undergoing active treatment, have received treatment within the previous six months, or will be receiving treatment in the next 60 days. Each patient must meet household income guidelines and provide diagnosis documentation in order to finalize the application.

Website: www.patientadvocate.org/connect-with-services/financial-aid-funds/


Merkel Cell Carcinoma Seattle Support Group

This support group is a flexible, open discussion group located in Seattle, WA for anyone touched by Merkel cell carcinoma (MCC), including patients, spouses, family and friends. This is an informal opportunity to meet others coping with MCC, share stories and information, answer questions and provide support. They have first-hand knowledge and experience to share about treatments, clinical research trials and coping with MCC.

Website: sites.google.com/site/merkelcellcarcinomaseattle/home

MCC Treatment Centers in the U.S.

Arizona

Arkansas

California

Connecticut

District of Columbia/Washington DC

Florida

Georgia

Illinois

Maryland

Massachusetts

Michigan

Minnesota

Missouri

New Jersey

New York

Pennsylvania

Oregon

Ohio

North Carolina

Pennsylvania

Tennessee

Texas

Utah

Virginia

Washington

Last updated: July 2020

EMD Serono and Pfizer Logo

Sun & Skin News