有色人种的皮肤癌

检查你的皮肤。了解警告标志。

这是一个事实:皮肤癌会影响各种肤色的人。 即使你有一个 肤色较深, 总是晒黑或很少晒伤,你仍然可以患上这种疾病。 更重要的是,对于有色人种来说,皮肤癌通常是在较晚治疗时才被诊断出来的。 这包括非洲人、亚洲人、拉丁美洲人、地中海人、中东人和美洲原住民后裔。

简单地说,如果你有皮肤,你就可能得皮肤癌。 这些包括非黑色素瘤皮肤癌,如 基底细胞癌 (密件抄送), 鳞状细胞癌 (SCC) 以及 黑色素瘤. 此外,来自太阳的紫外线 (UV) 辐射会对您的皮肤造成危险的、持久的伤害。

有色人种可以做什么

最重要的事情是去 知道你的皮肤类型 和 保护你的皮肤 从太阳。另外,了解皮肤癌的警告信号以及深色肤色时应注意的事项。 每月检查一下自己 每年看一次皮肤科医生 全身检查. 无论如何,如果您发现皮肤上有任何新的、变化的或不寻常的东西,请联系皮肤科医生。

加入#LoveYourSkin 活动

为了提高人们对皮肤癌危险的认识,我们邀请您参加我们的公众意识活动 - #爱你的皮肤 — 专注于皮肤癌教育、早期检测和防晒 有色皮肤.

参与起来很容易:

  • 关注我们 在社交媒体上
  • Share 帮助传播信息的帖子、事实和图表(见下文 可下载的图形进行共享)
  • 使用#标签 #LoveYourSkinProtectYourSkin 并标记我们@SkinCancerOrg,以便我们可以放大该消息

我们可以一起互相帮助,分享事实 爱情。因为爱你的皮肤就意味着保护你的皮肤。

下载 PDF:

仅供个人使用。 请勿复制或分发。 要购买手册,请访问 store.SkinCancer.org。

肤色统计数据和可下载内容

在过去的二十年里,西班牙裔的黑色素瘤发病率上升了 20%
肢端黑色素瘤意识徽章
  • 皮肤癌占黑人所有癌症的 1% 到 2%。2
  • 皮肤癌约占亚洲人所有癌症的 2% 至 4%。2
  • 皮肤癌占西班牙裔人所有癌症的 4% 到 5%。3
  • 鳞状细胞癌是黑人中最常见的皮肤癌。2
  • 黑色素瘤黑人患者的五年黑色素瘤生存率估计为 71%,而白人患者为 94%。1
  • 有色人种的黑色素瘤最常发生在阳光照射很少的区域。 高达 60% 至 75% 的肿瘤出现在手掌、脚底指甲下(甲下)和指甲区域。 2
  • 黑人患者在晚期被诊断患有黑色素瘤的可能性是非西班牙裔白人患者的三倍多。 52% 的非西班牙裔黑人患者和 26% 的西班牙裔患者初步诊断为晚期黑色素瘤,而非西班牙裔白人患者的这一比例为 16%。4
  • 在有色人种中,脚底部分通常是皮肤癌最常见的部位,占 30% 至 40% 的病例。3
  • 有色人种患肢端黑色素瘤(ALM,手掌、脚底和甲床的黑色素瘤)的比例高于白种人。 浅表扩散性黑色素瘤是白种人和西班牙裔中最常见的亚型。3
点击参考
  1. C2024 年癌症事实和数据。美国癌症协会。2024 年癌症事实和数据。美国癌症协会。
    https://www.cancer.org/research/cancer-facts-statistics/all-cancer-facts-figures/2024-cancer-
    事实-数字.html。 17 年 2024 月 XNUMX 日访问.
  2. Gloster HM, Neal K. 有色人种皮肤癌。 J Am Acad Dermatol 杂志 2006; 55:741-60。
  3. Bradford, Porcia T. 有色皮肤中的皮肤癌。 皮肤科护士 2009年21-4月; 170(178):XNUMX-XNUMX。
  4. Hu S、Soza-Vento RM、Parker DF 等。 佛罗里达州迈阿密戴德县西班牙裔、黑人和白人患者黑色素瘤诊断阶段的比较。 拱形皮肤 2006; 142(6):704-8.

鲍勃·马利 被诊断出患有 肢端黑色素瘤(ALM)最终于 1981 年夺去了他的生命,时年 36 岁。当他的脚趾甲下出现一个黑点时,马利将其归因于足球受伤。最终他被诊断出患有这种疾病,但拒绝了建议的治疗。他的黑色素瘤扩散到身体的其他部位,不幸地缩短了他的生命。

询问专家

问:虽然所有类型的皮肤癌在有色人种中都不太常见,但他们的结果却要差得多。 造成这种差距的原因是什么?

A: 皮肤癌在非白人种族群体中较少见,但当它们发生时,往往会在较晚的阶段被诊断出来。 结果,预后更差。 一项研究表明,晚期黑色素瘤诊断在西班牙裔和黑人患者中比在非西班牙裔白人患者中更常见。

首先,公众对有色人种患皮肤癌风险的认识较低。 其次,从医疗保健提供者的角度来看,有色人种患者对皮肤癌的怀疑指数通常较低。 这是因为它的机会较小。 因此,这些患者可能不太可能接受定期的全身皮肤检查。 第三,有色人种容易发生皮肤癌的身体部位通常是较少暴露在阳光下的部位。 这使得检测变得更加困难。 例如,有色人种患者黑色素瘤最常见的部位是下肢,尤其是脚底。 日复一日,患者惊讶地发现脚上、甲床上可能会长出黑色素瘤(甲下黑色素瘤)在您的眼睛或其他似乎不受阳光照射的地方。[阅读完整的博客文章: 有色人种是否存在皮肤癌危机?]

– 医学博士安德鲁·亚历克西斯每小时英里数 是纽约市西奈山圣卢克医院和西奈山西皮肤科的主任。

晚期黑色素瘤诊断在西班牙裔和黑人患者中比非西班牙裔白人患者更普遍

图片

请注意:由于并非所有皮肤癌都具有相同的外观,因此这些图像可作为其外观的一般参考。

肢端黑色素瘤

肢端黑色素瘤 (ALM) 是有色人种中最常见的黑色素瘤。

肢端黑色素瘤图片来源:医学博士 Hugh Gloster

肢端黑色素瘤肢端黑色素瘤
黑人嘴唇上的黑色素瘤

黑人嘴唇上的黑色素瘤

美国原住民妇女腿部的结节性黑色素瘤。

 

照片:国际皮肤成像合作组织

基底细胞癌

A 基底细胞癌 (BCC) 可能会在有色皮肤上着色,就像这一个一样。

基底细胞癌可能有色素沉着,就像这个,在有色皮肤上。照片:Andrew Alexis,医学博士,公共卫生硕士

有色 BCC

有色 BCC照片:休·格洛斯特,医学博士

耳后色素沉着 BCC

耳后色素沉着 BCC照片:休·格洛斯特,医学博士

一个亚洲人鼻子上的密件抄送

一个亚洲人鼻子上的密件抄送照片:休·格洛斯特,医学博士

鳞状细胞癌

鳞状细胞癌(SCC) 在一个黑人的头皮上。

黑人头皮上的 CSCC照片:休·格洛斯特,医学博士

最后更新: 2023年九月

太阳与皮肤新闻

捐献
找皮肤科医生

推荐产品

Skin Cancer in People of Color

What You Need to Know

It’s a fact: Skin cancer affects people of all colors. Even if you have a darker skin tone, always tan or rarely burn, you can still develop the disease. What’s more, for people of color, skin cancer is often diagnosed too late, making it harder to treat. This includes people of African, Asian, Latino, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern and Native American descent.

Simply put, if you have skin, you can get skin cancers. These include the nonmelanoma skin cancers like basal cell carcinoma (BCC), squamous cell carcinoma (SCC) as well as melanoma. Furthermore, ultraviolet (UV) radiation from the sun can cause dangerous, lasting damage to your skin.

What People of Color Can Do

The most important thing to do is get to know your skin type and protect your skin from the sun. Also, check yourself monthly and see a dermatologist once a year for a full body exam. No matter what, if you notice anything NEW, CHANGING or UNUSUAL on your skin, contact a dermatologist.

Skin of Color Stats

In the past two decades, melanoma incidence has risen by 20% among Hispanics
  • Skin cancer represents 1 to 2 percent of all cancers in Black people.2
  • Skin cancer represents approximately 2 to 4 percent of all cancers in Asian people.2
  • Skin cancer represents 4 to 5 percent of all cancers in Hispanic people.3
  • Squamous cell carcinoma is the most common skin cancer in Black people.2
  • Black patients with melanoma have an estimated five-year melanoma survival rate of 71 percent, versus 93 percent for white patients.1
  • Melanoma in people of color most often occurs on areas that get little sun exposure. Up to 60 to 75 percent of tumors arise on the palms of the hands, soles of the feet under the nail (subungual) and the nail areas. 2
  • Black patients are more than three times as likely to be diagnosed with melanoma at a late stage than non-Hispanic white patients. 52 percent of non-Hispanic Black patients and 26 percent of Hispanic patients receive an initial diagnosis of advanced-stage melanoma, versus 16 percent of non-Hispanic white patients.4
  • In nonwhites, the plantar portion of the foot is often the most common site of skin cancer, being involved in 30 to 40 percent of cases.3
  • People of color have higher percentages of acral lentiginous melanoma (ALM, melanoma of the palms, soles and nailbeds) than Caucasians. Superficial spreading melanoma is the most frequent subtype in Caucasians and Hispanics.3
Click for references
  1. Cancer Facts and Figures 2022. American Cancer Society. https://www.cancer.org/content/dam/cancer-org/research/cancer-facts-and-statistics/annual-cancer-facts-and-figures/2022/2022-cancer-facts-and-figures.pdf  Accessed January 19, 2022.
  2. Gloster HM, Neal K. Skin cancer in skin of color. J Am Acad Dermatol 2006; 55:741-60.
  3. Bradford, Porcia T. Skin Cancer in Skin of Color. Dermatol Nurs 2009 Jul-Aug; 21(4): 170-178.
  4. Hu S, Soza-Vento RM, Parker DF, et al. Comparison of stage at diagnosis of melanoma among Hispanic, black, and white patients in Miami-Dade County, Florida. Arch Dermatol 2006; 142(6):704-8.

Bob Marley was diagnosed with acral lentiginous melanoma (ALM) which ultimately claimed his life in 1981 at age 36. When a dark spot appeared under his toenail, Marley attributed it to a soccer injury. Eventually he was diagnosed with the disease but was not treated. His melanoma spread to other areas of his body and tragically cut his life short.

Ask the Expert

Q: While all types of skin cancer are less common in people of color, their outcomes are dramatically worse. What accounts for this gap?

A: Skin cancers are less prevalent in nonwhite racial ethnic groups, but when they occur, they tend to be diagnosed at a later stage. As a result, the prognosis is worse. One study showed that late-stage melanoma diagnoses are more common in Hispanic and Black patients than in non-Hispanic white patients.

First, there’s a lower public awareness of the risk of skin cancer among individuals of color. Second, from the perspective of health-care providers, there’s often a lower index of suspicion for skin cancer in patients of color. This is because the chances of it are smaller. So these patients may be less likely to get regular, full-body skin exams. And third, the places on the body where skin cancers tend to occur in people of color are often in less sun-exposed areas. This makes detection more difficult. For example, the most common location for melanoma in patients of color is the lower extremities — the soles of the feet in particular. [Read full blog post: Is There a Skin Cancer Crisis in People of Color?]

– Andrew Alexis, MDMPH, is chair of the Department of Dermatology at Mount Sinai St. Luke’s and Mount Sinai West in New York City.

Late-stage melanoma diagnoses are more prevalent among Hispanic and Black patients than non-Hispanic white patients

Images

Please note: Since not all skin cancers have the same appearance, these images serve as a general reference to what it may look like.

ACRAL LENTIGINOUS MELANOMA

Acral lentiginous melanoma (ALM) is the most common melanoma found in people of color.

Acral lentiginous melanomaPhoto credit: Hugh Gloster, MD

acral lentiginous melanomaacral lentiginous melanoma

BASAL CELL CARCINOMA

A basal cell carcinoma (BCC) may be pigmented, like this one, on skin of color.

A basal cell carcinoma may be pigmented, like this one, on skin of color.Photo: Andrew Alexis, MD, MPH

Pigmented BCC

Pigmented BCCPhoto: Hugh Gloster, MD

Pigmented BCC behind the ear

Pigmented BCC behind the earPhoto: Hugh Gloster, MD

BCC on the nose of an Asian man

BCC on the nose of an Asian manPhoto: Hugh Gloster, MD

SQUAMOUS CELL CARCINOMA

Squamous cell carcinoma (SCC) on the scalp of a Black man.

CSCC on the scalp of a Black manPhoto: Hugh Gloster, MD

Last updated: January 2022

Sun & Skin News

Make a Donation
Find a Dermatologist

Recommended Products