翻译:     

西班牙语

与医学博士 Paul Nghiem 的问答

Paul Nghiem 个人资料图片

皮肤癌基金会与医学博士 Paul Nghiem 就默克尔细胞癌 (MCC) 患者在检测、监测和治疗方面取得的里程碑式进展进行了交谈,默克尔细胞癌 (MCC) 是一种罕见但危险的皮肤癌。 Nghiem 博士(发音为 NEE-em)是西雅图华盛顿大学的 George F. Odland Endowed 主席和皮肤科主任。 他是美国最重要的 MCC 专家之一

问答

问:黑色素瘤比任何其他形式的皮肤癌杀死的人都多。 但是,虽然默克尔细胞癌 (MCC) 比黑色素瘤罕见得多,但它在个案中更危险。 是什么让它更危险?   

答:早期 MCC 通常远没有早期黑色素瘤那么显眼。 它们看起来并不令人担忧,因此通常在更晚期才被发现,此时它们已经转移(扩散)到身体的其他部位并且更难治愈。 相比之下,许多黑色素瘤实际上是在原位阶段(0 阶段)发现的,此时它们位于皮肤的最表层(表皮),没有侵入更深层。 这些原位黑色素瘤易于治疗并且几乎没有转移的机会。 但在我们跟踪的 1,000 多例 MCC 病例中,我们只有两例原位病变。 在这么早的时间检测到它们是非常罕见的。

当您第一次发现黑色素瘤或 MCC 肿瘤时,最初关注的是肿瘤细胞是否可能已经从病灶(原发肿瘤)转移到最近的淋巴结。 今天检查这个的标准方法是 前哨淋巴结活检 (SLNB). 在此测试中,医生通过移除并在显微镜下检查接受原发肿瘤淋巴液引流的前几个附近节点,来验证没有癌细胞扩散到淋巴结。 对于黑色素瘤,在大多数情况下,肿瘤很小并且处于足够早的阶段,您不需要进行 SLNB,因为它不太可能发生转移。 然而,即使是最小的 MCC,直径只有 15 或 XNUMX 毫米,也有 XNUMX% 的机会扩散到淋巴结或更远的地方,因此即使 MCC 非常小,我们也会考虑进行 SLNB。

问:当这些病变很容易治愈时,人们可以做些什么来发现更多这些病变? 他们如何更早地识别潜在的 MCC?

答:黑色素瘤的经典 ABCDE 体征不适用于 Merkel 细胞癌。 相反,我们有首字母缩写词, 爱欧,这有助于早期识别: A有症状/缺乏压痛; E迅速扩张; I免疫抑制; O小于 50 岁; 和 U暴露于紫外线/白皙的皮肤。 大约 63% 的 MCC 患者病灶迅速扩大,接近 90% 的患者具有三个或更多 AEIOU 特征。 然而,重要的是要注意,许多具有几个 AEIOU 特征的病变并不能证明是 MCC——有些是良性的,有些可能是不同的皮肤癌。

老年妇女左眼睑默克尔细胞癌
默克尔细胞癌

照片由医学博士 Paul Nghiem 友情提供

问:一旦 MCC 转移到淋巴结或其他部位,患者的生存机会有多大?

答:现在很难说,因为有了新疗法,生存率正在迅速提高。 如果有人发展为转移性 MCC,我曾经感到绝望,但现在显然不是没有希望。 该领域发生了重大变化,晚期 MCC 真正有可能治愈或接近治愈。 我现在觉得至少有一半的转移性MCC患者会得到有效治疗。

问:哪些治疗产生了差异?

A:过去,我们用化学疗法治疗晚期默克尔细胞癌。 在超过一半的病例中,这种方法会缩小肿瘤,但这种益处平均只能持续三个月。 当癌症复发时,它对许多药物产生了耐药性,而且免疫系统已被化学疗法抑制,使这种对免疫非常敏感的癌症的问题更加复杂。 然而,检查点抑制剂是一类令人兴奋的新型免疫疗法(增强免疫系统抵抗疾病能力的疗法),并已成为晚期 MCC 的标准治疗方法。 通过阻断通常控制免疫系统的蛋白质受体,这些药物可以刺激 T 细胞对抗肿瘤。

2017 年 12 月,美国食品和药物管理局 (FDA) 批准了一种免疫刺激药物 avelumab (Bavencio),用于治疗患有转移性 MCC 的成人和 33 岁及以上儿童患者。 FDA 对晚期 MCC 的首次批准是基于一项临床试验的数据,在该试验中,50% 的患者经历了肿瘤的完全或部分缩小,尽管他们之前都接受过 MCC 化疗。 随后对 avelumab 的研究表明,当作为“一线”疗法(化疗前)给予时,反应率更高,约 XNUMX% 的患者受益。

通过静脉注射,avelumab 通过阻断一种称为 PD-L1(程序性死亡配体 1)的分子来刺激 T 细胞,该分子与 PD-1 相连以抑制这些关键的免疫细胞。

2018年, FDA 批准 pembrolizumab (Keytruda) 用于治疗 MCC, 在对未接受过治疗的复发性局部晚期或转移性 MCC 患者进行研究后 以前 该疾病的全身治疗显示 56% 目标 反应速度 (ORR). 

2023年, FDA 加速批准 retifanlimab-dlwr, 也 PD-1 抑制剂, 作为治疗 成年人 转移性或复发性局部进展d 中冶. 它的安全性和有效性基于 POD1UM-201 试验的数据,该试验评估了先前未接受过该疾病全身治疗的转移性或复发性局部晚期 MCC 成人的治疗. 这些患者的 ORR 为 52%。 

我曾经对转移性 MCC 患者感到绝望。 现在,显然不是没有希望了。

问:现在应该给予治疗的优先顺序是什么? 在使用其中一种检查点封锁疗法之前,您是否必须先进行化学疗法或放射疗法? 

答:直到最近,化学疗法还是一线疗法。 但是,如果您在化疗前用检查点抑制剂治疗晚期 MCC,大约 60% 的患者会有反应。 如果您等到患者的一轮化疗失败后,似乎大约有 40% 的患者有反应。 经过两轮或更多轮化疗后,大约 20% 的患者有反应。 所以,现在通常正确的做法似乎是先使用免疫刺激药物,然后根据反应决定下一步做什么。 一些患者会有完全反应,疾病完全缓解。 一些患者的肿瘤会部分反应,肿瘤体积通常会减少 70%,这仍然是主要反应。 这些患者中的许多人最终都患上了根本不会影响他们健康的低水平疾病。 我最近治疗的一位女性在一年内出现了部分反应,然后变成了完全反应。 但通常情况下,如果药物有效,反应会很快(1-2 个月内),而且大多数反应会持续一年多。 但是,我们不确定停药后会发生什么。

由于 avelumab 现在已获得 FDA 批准用于既往接受过或未接受过化疗的 MCC,因此它现在被优先用作转移性 MCC 的一线疗法,而化疗在大多数情况下不受青睐。 目前的数据表明,如果在化疗之前给予免疫疗法效果更好,化疗往往会抑制免疫系统并使肿瘤对各种治疗更具抵抗力。

虽然化疗不再是通常的一线治疗,但在某些情况下,放疗在早期可能会发挥很好的作用。 它可以与免疫疗法很好地协同作用。 免疫系统在消除小肿瘤方面比大肿瘤做得更好,辐射可以有效缩小肿瘤。 如果对免疫治疗的反应不完全,个别无反应的病变有时可以用一点放射治疗来治疗,以使免疫系统的工作更容易。

问:FDA 批准的其他黑色素瘤检查点阻断疗法、nivolumab (Opdivo®) 和组合 ipilimumab (Yervoy®)-nivolumab 怎么样? 他们是否也在为 MCC 受审?

答:有关“ipi-nivo”组合如何在 MCC 中工作的可用数据越来越多。 它的主要应用是针对对单一免疫刺激剂(avelumab 或 pembrolizumab)没有反应的患者。 对于此类“难治性”患者,ipi-nivo 组合似乎可以帮助大约 20% 至 –30% 的病例。 相比之下,ipi-nivo 最初通常不使用,因为单独使用 pembrolizumab 或 avelumab 的反应率约为 60% 相当高,而且众所周知,与单一 PD 相比,在免疫治疗中加入 ipilimumab (Yervoy) 会增加显着的副作用-1 通路药物(如 avelumab 或 pembrolizumab)。

问:如果初始检查点疗法均无效,接下来会发生什么?

A:这是一个巨大的兴趣和研究领域。 如上所述,“ipi-nivo”组合可以帮助大约 20% 到 -30% 的对单一免疫检查点疗法没有反应的 MCC 病例。 局部注射免疫刺激疗法也可能与全身性药物(如免疫疗法)相结合。 正在探索的其他方法包括为患者提供基因优化的癌症特异性杀伤性 T 细胞,类似于已证明对某些血癌有益的“CAR-T”细胞。

问:你说你希望大约一半的患者在检查点封锁疗法中表现良好。 这表明大约有一半不会。 由于这些是具有一些潜在严重副作用的昂贵治疗,是否有任何方法可以提前知道哪些患者会受益,以便您可以开始对预测的无反应者进行更有益的治疗?

答:虽然超过一半的患者有反应,但对于大约 40% 的患者来说,癌症会继续发展,就好像您根本不给予任何治疗一样。 我们和许多其他人正在努力解决这个问题,我很高兴地说,经过五年多的努力,这一领域取得了进展。 血液中含有大量癌症特异性 T 细胞的患者似乎比那些没有的患者更容易对检查点抑制剂产生反应。 令人着迷的是,肿瘤中癌症特异性 T 细胞的数量并不能预测反应。 用军事战斗来类比,作为后备(血液中)的有效部队的数量似乎对赢得战争至关重要。 相比之下,我们在战场上(在肿瘤中)找到的数量并不重要。 这些发现确实表明,如果我们能够增加患者可用的癌症特异性 T 细胞的数量,我们或许能够帮助他们更好地对抗癌症。

问:一个疗程后如何? 有没有办法及早知道癌症是否开始复发? 

答:我们在这一领域取得了令人振奋的进步。 我们的团队开发了一种血液测试,可以在血液中寻找某些默克尔细胞多瘤病毒抗体,这样我们就可以及早发现任何复发情况,届时肿瘤将得到更有效的治疗(见 www.merkelcell.org/sero).

2008 年,医学博士 Patrick S. Moore 和医学博士 Yuan Chang 发现,大多数默克尔细胞癌部分是由病毒引起的。 (阳光也经常发挥作用。)我们在大约 80% 的 MCC 肿瘤中发现了这种 Merkel 细胞多瘤病毒。 当这种病毒感染细胞时,它会产生致癌蛋白(促癌蛋白),可能导致细胞生长失控。 我们在不同的时间间隔进行血液检查,从诊断时开始,如果针对这些多瘤病毒蛋白的抗体数量不断增加,则强烈表明患者正在复发。

我们现在常规使用此测试,因为随着时间的推移,它对管理患者非常有帮助。 大约一半的患者不产生任何这些抗体,实际上他们的 MCC 复发风险比产生抗体的患者高 40%,因此我们知道我们需要用其他方法密切关注它们。 对于产生抗体的患者来说,情况相对简单:如果癌症没有复发,抗体会迅速下降,而且在大多数情况下,治疗后一年内都检测不到。 如果 MCC 回来,抗体就会上升。 它使我们有很大的机会及早发现复发,当它们极易治疗时:治疗葡萄而不是葡萄柚(在癌症大小方面)有很大的不同。 对于抗体持续下降的患者,血液测试让我们非常有信心癌症不会复发,因此我们可以跳过或减少使用昂贵的成像扫描。

截至 2022 年,我们正在参与开发另一项测试,该测试可检测漂浮在血液中的癌症 DNA 片段。 这称为“循环肿瘤 DNA”测试。 它已被用于包括乳腺癌和结肠癌在内的癌症。 它似乎对 MCC 特别有效。 该测试的一个主要优点是它甚至适用于不产生默克尔病毒抗体的患者。 因此,几乎所有 MCC 患者都应该接受比身体扫描更准确、更灵敏的血液检查

问:在治疗 MCC 患者后,您如何决定看病的频率以及他们癌症复发的风险有多大?

答:2022 年 XNUMX 月 我们最近报道了 MCC 复发的总体风险为 40%; 这明显高于更常见的皮肤癌。 此外,很明显,患者就诊时的癌症分期和其他风险因素极大地影响了他们自身 MCC 复发的风险。 这些因素包括免疫抑制、男性和高龄,所有这些都会增加复发的风险。 鉴于 95% 的复发发生在诊断后的前三年,诊断后的时间是决定患者 MCC 仍然复发的剩余机会的一个非常重要的因素。 这反过来又非常有助于确定患者的随访积极程度。

我们创建了一个基于网络的“风险计算器”。 考虑到这些不同的因素。 它可以通过 www.merkelcell.org/recur.

在我们的日常实践中,这被证明非常有用。 例如,当患者来找您进行为期一年的随访时,现在可以告诉他们与监测开始时的机会相比,他们有多少“剩余”疾病风险。

总的来说,我们现在认为我们不必像过去那样多年密切监测患者。 MCC 似乎不像黑色素瘤,黑色素瘤通常在诊断后 10 年或 XNUMX 年复发。 有了MCC,如果它回来,一般是两到三年之内。 因此,我们现在认为,密集的随访两到三年通常是合适的,直到大约第五年的时间表明显不那么激进。

问:是否有任何其他新的治疗方式有所作为?

答:检查点封锁免疫疗法已经改变了游戏规则,目前还没有其他正在测试的疗法产生这种差异。 然而,结合检查点疗法,我们现在正在使用患者自身的 T 细胞来对抗癌症。 在某些情况下,我们会“重新编程”患者的细胞以通过识别病毒来攻击癌症。 在其他情况下,我们会找到并扩增他们自己的默克尔病毒特异性 T 细胞。 这可以增强免疫系统,将这种疗法与检查点封锁疗法相结合可能比单独使用任何一种方法更有效。

我们也在研究将一些病灶内疗法与检查点封锁疗法相结合。 在 MCC 的小型研究中,他们经常缩小或消除注射的肿瘤,并减少全身其他一些肿瘤。 研究正在进行中,但与免疫检查点药物本身相比,一些此类“局部”免疫刺激剂与免疫检查点药物一起使用似乎有助于产生更高的反应率。

发布于 7 年 2016 月 21 日。更新于 2022 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日。

捐献
找皮肤科医生

推荐产品

Translation:     

En Español

Q&A with Paul Nghiem, MD, PhD

Paul Nghiem Profile Picture

The Skin Cancer Foundation spoke with Paul Nghiem, MD, PhD, about landmark progress in the detection, monitoring and treatment of patients with Merkel cell carcinoma (MCC), a rare but dangerous skin cancer. Dr. Nghiem (pronounced NEE-em) is the George F. Odland Endowed Chair and head of Dermatology at the University of Washington in Seattle. He is one of the foremost experts on MCC in the U.S.

Questions and answers

Q: Melanoma kills more people than any other form of skin cancer. But while Merkel cell carcinoma (MCC) is much rarer than melanoma, it is more dangerous case by case. What makes it more dangerous?   

A: Early MCCs are typically far less conspicuous than early melanomas. They don’t look concerning, so they often end up being detected at a more advanced stage, when they have metastasized (spread) to other parts of the body and are harder to cure. In contrast, many melanomas are actually found at the in situ stage (stage 0), when they are contained in the very top layer of the skin (epidermis) and have not invaded into the deeper layers. These in situ melanomas are easy to treat and have virtually no chance of metastasizing. But out of more than 1,000 cases of MCC we are following, we have had only two in situ lesions. It is very rare to detect them at such an early time.

When you first find a melanoma or MCC tumor, the initial concern is whether tumor cells may have metastasized from the lesion (the primary tumor) to the nearest lymph nodes. The standard way of checking this today is the sentinel node biopsy (SLNB).  In this test, the physician verifies that no cancer cells have spread to the lymph nodes by removing and microscopically examining the first few nearby nodes that receive lymph fluid drainage from the primary tumor. With melanoma, in most cases, the tumor is small and at an early enough stage that you don’t need to do an SLNB since it is very unlikely to have metastasized. However, even the very smallest MCC, as little as four or five millimeters in diameter, has a 15 percent chance of having spread to the lymph nodes or beyond, so we consider doing an SLNB even if an MCC is very small.

Q: What can people do to discover more of these lesions when they’re readily curable? How can they recognize potential MCCs earlier?

A: The classic ABCDE signs of melanoma don’t work for Merkel cell carcinoma. Instead, we have the acronym, AEIOU, which can help with early recognition: Asymptomatic/lack of tenderness; Expanding rapidly; Immune suppression; Older than 50 years; and Ultraviolet-exposed/fair skin. About 63 percent of MCC patients have rapidly expanding lesions, and close to 90 percent have three or more of the AEIOU features. It is important to note, however, that many lesions with several of the AEIOU features do not prove to be MCC—some are benign, and others may be a different skin cancer.

Merkel cell carcinoma on senior woman left eyelid
Merkel cell carcinoma

Photos courtesy of Paul Nghiem, MD, PhD

Q: Once an MCC has metastasized to the lymph nodes or beyond, what are the patient’s chances of survival?

A: That’s hard to say right now, because thanks to new treatments, survival is changing quickly for the better. I used to feel hopeless if somebody developed metastatic MCC, but now it is clearly not hopeless. There have been major changes in the field, with a real possibility of cure or near-cure for advanced MCC. I now feel that at least half of the patients with metastatic MCC will be effectively treated.

Q: What treatments have made the difference?

A: In the past, we treated advanced Merkel cell carcinoma with chemotherapy. This approach would shrink tumors in over half of cases, but the benefit would last only three months on average. When the cancer returned, it was resistant to many drugs, and the immune system had been suppressed by the chemotherapy, compounding problems for what is a very immune-sensitive cancer. However, checkpoint inhibitors are an exciting new class of immunotherapies (treatments that boost the ability of the immune system to fight a disease), and have become the standard of care for advanced MCC. By blocking protein receptors that normally keep the immune system in check, these drugs stimulate T cells to fight the tumor.

In March 2017, the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) approved an immune-stimulating drug, avelumab (Bavencio), for the treatment of adults and pediatric patients 12 years and older with metastatic MCC. FDA approval, the first ever for advanced MCC, was based on data from a clinical trial in which 33 percent of the patients experienced complete or partial shrinkage of their tumors, even though they all previously received chemotherapy for their MCC. Subsequent studies of avelumab have shown higher response rates when given as ‘first line’ therapy (before chemotherapy), with about 50% of patients benefitting.

Injected intravenously, avelumab stimulates T cells by blocking a molecule called PD-L1 (programmed death-ligand 1) that links up with PD-1 to inhibit these critical immune cells.

In 2018,the FDA approved pembrolizumab (Keytruda) for treating MCC, based on a 56% chance of causing a patient’s MCC tumors to shrink significantly. This study was carried out in the first line before any other systemic therapy was given for MCC.

I used to feel hopeless for patients with metastatic MCC. Now, it is clearly not hopeless.

Q: Is there any preferred order in which treatments should be given now? Do you have to administer chemotherapy or radiation first, before using one of the checkpoint blockade therapies? 

A: Until recently, chemotherapy was the frontline therapy. But if you treat advanced MCC with a checkpoint inhibitor before doing chemotherapy, about 60 percent of patients respond. If you wait until the patient has failed one round of chemotherapy, it appears that about 40 percent of patients respond. And after two or more rounds of chemotherapy, about 20 percent of patients respond. So, usually the right approach now seems to be to use the immune-stimulating drug first, then decide what to do next based on the response. Some patients will have a complete response, with total remission of the disease. Some patients’ tumors will partially respond, often decreasing by 70 percent in tumor volume, which is still a major response. Many of these patients end up having a low level of disease that does not affect their health at all. One woman I treated recently had a partial response for a year, then it changed to a complete response. But usually, if the drug is going to work, the response comes fast (within 1-2 months), and most responses last well over a year. However, we are uncertain what will happen when the drug is stopped.

Since avelumab is now FDA-approved for MCC that has or has not been previously treated with chemotherapy, it is now being used preferentially as a first-line therapy for metastatic MCC, while chemotherapy is not favored in most cases. Current data suggest that immune therapy works better if given prior to chemotherapy, which tends to suppress the immune system and make tumors more resistant to a variety of treatments.

Although chemotherapy is no longer the usual frontline treatment, radiation may in some cases be used to good advantage early in the game. It can synergize nicely with immunotherapy. The immune system does better at eliminating small tumors than large tumors, and radiation can effectively shrink tumors. If the response to immune therapy is not complete, individual non-responding lesions can sometimes be treated with a little bit of radiation therapy to make the job of the immune system easier.

Q: What about the other FDA-approved checkpoint blockade therapies for melanoma, nivolumab (Opdivo®) and combination ipilimumab (Yervoy®)-nivolumab? Are they being tried for MCC as well?

A: There is an increasing amount of data available on how the ‘ipi-nivo’ combination works in MCC. Its major application has been for patients who do not respond to a single immune-stimulating agent (avelumab or pembrolizumab). For such ‘refractory’ patients, it appears that the ipi-nivo combination can help in about 20 to –30 percent of cases. In contrast, ipi-nivo is not usually used initially because the approximate ~60 percent response rate for pembrolizumab or avelumab alone is quite high,and including ipilimumab (Yervoy) in immune therapy is well known to add significant side effects compared to a single PD-1 pathway drug (such as avelumab or pembrolizumab.).

Q: What happens next if none of the initial checkpoint therapies work?

A: This is a huge area of interest and research. As noted above, the ‘ipi-nivo’ combination can help in about 20 to -30 percent of MCC cases that do not respond to a single immune checkpoint therapy. It is also possible that local injections of immune-stimulating therapies might be combined with a systemic agent such as immunotherapy. Other approaches being explored include giving patients genetically optimized cancer-specific killer T cells, similar to ‘CAR-T’ cells that have proven beneficial for certain blood cancers.

Q: You said you expect about half the patients to do well on the checkpoint blockade therapies. That suggests that about half won’t. Since these are expensive treatments with some potentially serious side effects, is there any way of knowing in advance which patients will benefit, so that you can start the predicted non-responders with a more beneficial treatment?

A: Although more than half of patients respond, for about 40 percent of patients, the cancer continues progressing as if you were giving no treatment at all. We and many others are working very hard to solve that problem, and I am delighted to say that there is progress in this area after more than five years of work. It appears that patients who have good numbers of cancer-specific T cells in their blood are vastly more likely to respond to checkpoint inhibitors than those who do not. Fascinatingly, the number of cancer-specific T cells in the tumors does not predict response. To use a military battle analogy, it appears that the number of effective troops available as backups (in the blood) is critical for winning the war. In contrast, the number we find on the battlefield (in the tumor), is not important. These findings do suggest that if we can increase the number of cancer-specific T cells available to the patient, we may be able to help them better fight the cancer.

Q: How about after a course of treatment has been administered? Is there a way of knowing early on whether the cancer is starting to come back? 

A: We have made exciting strides in this area. Our team developed a blood test, which looks for certain Merkel cell polyomavirus antibodies in the blood, so that we can detect any recurrences early, when the tumor will be more effectively treatable (see www.merkelcell.org/sero).

In 2008, Patrick S. Moore, MD and Yuan Chang, MD found that most Merkel cell carcinomas are in part caused by a virus. (Sunlight also often plays a role.) We find this Merkel cell polyomavirus in about 80 percent of MCC tumors. When this virus infects cells, it produces oncoproteins (cancer-promoting proteins) that may cause the cells to grow out of control. We do the blood test at different intervals, starting at the time of diagnosis, and if the number of antibodies to these polyomavirus proteins ever increases, it strongly indicates that the patient is having a recurrence.

We are now using this test routinely, because it is very helpful in managing patients over time. About half of patients do not produce any of these antibodies, and they are actually at about 40 percent higher risk of having their MCC recur than those that make the antibodies, so we know we need to follow them closely with other approaches. For patients who make the antibodies it’s relatively simple: If the cancer does not come back, the antibodies fall quickly, and in most cases they are undetectable by one year after treatment. If MCC comes back, the antibodies go up. It gives us a great chance of discovering recurrences early, when they are extremely treatable: Treating a grape instead of a grapefruit (in terms of cancer size) makes a big difference. And with a patient whose antibodies keep falling, the blood test gives us great confidence that the cancer is not recurring, so we can skip or reduce the use of costly imaging scans.

As of 2022, we are involved in developing another test that detects bits of DNA from the cancer that are floating around in the blood. This is called a ‘circulating tumor DNA’ test. It has been used for cancers including breast and colon. It appears to work particularly well for MCC. A major advantage of this test is that it works even in patients who do not produce antibodies to the Merkel virus. Therefore, virtually all MCC patients should have a blood test that is typically more accurate and sensitive than body scans

Q: After you have treated MCC patients, how do you decide how often to see them and how much risk they still have of the cancer coming back?

A: In April 2022 we recently reported that the overall risk of MCC recurrence is 40 percent; this is a significantly higher rate than the more common skin cancers. In addition, it is clear that a patient’s cancer stage at presentation and other risk factors greatly affect their own risk of MCC recurrence. These factors include immune suppression, male sex and advanced age, all of which increase risk of recurrence. Given that 95 percent of recurrences happen in the first three years after diagnosis, the time since diagnosis is a very important factor that determines a patient’s remaining chance that their MCC will still recur. This in turn is very helpful in determining how aggressively patients should be followed.

We have created a web-based ‘risk calculator’. that takes these various factors into consideration. It is available via www.merkelcell.org/recur.

In our daily practice, this has proven incredibly useful. For example, when patients are seeing you for their one-year follow-up visit, it is now possible to tell them how much “residual” risk of disease they have, as compared to their chance just as surveillance began.

In general, we now believe that we don’t have to monitor patients so closely for as many years as we used to do. MCC doesn’t seem to be like melanoma, which often recurs five or 10 years after diagnosis. With MCC, if it comes back, it is usually within two to three years. So, we now think that intensive follow-up for two or three years is usually appropriate, with a markedly less aggressive schedule up to about year five.

Q: Are any other new forms of treatment making a difference?

A: The checkpoint blockade immunotherapies have been the game-changer, and no other therapies being tested have made that kind of difference yet. However, in combination with checkpoint therapy, we are now using patients’ own T cells to fight the cancer. In some cases, we “reprogram” the patient’s cells to attack the cancer by recognizing the virus. In other cases, we find and expand their own Merkel virus-specific T cells. This can give a boost to the immune system, and combining this therapy with checkpoint blockade therapy may be more effective than either approach alone.

We are also looking into combining some intralesional therapies with the checkpoint blockade therapies. In small studies in MCC, they have often shrunk or eliminated the injected tumors and reduced some other tumors throughout the body. Studies are ongoing, but it seems likely that some such “local” immune stimulators given along with immune checkpoint agents will help produce higher response rates than the checkpoint agents given by themselves.

Published on November 7, 2016. Updated September 21, 2022.

This section is made possible through an education grant fromEMD Serono Pfizer

Make a Donation
Find a Dermatologist

Recommended Products

Visit Website for Medical Providers