2016 Skin Cancer Foundation Media Award

SCF Media Award 2016The Skin Cancer Foundation Media Award recognizes excellence in journalism that addresses skin cancer prevention, early detection and/or treatment.

The 2016 winner was announced at The Skin Cancer Foundation’s Champions for Change Gala, held October 18 at the Mandarin Oriental New York. Allure magazine won for the article, “Harsh Light” by Jenna Rosenstein. The award was accepted by the author and Allure Beauty Director Jenny Bailly.

2016 media award winners
Dr. Deborah S. Sarnoff and Dr. Ronald L. Moy (center) with 2016 Media Award Winners Jenna Rosenstein (left) and Jenny Bailly (right) accepting on behalf of Allure Magazine.

The 2016 Media Award entries were evaluated by Skin Cancer Foundation Senior Vice Presidents Deborah S. Sarnoff, MD, and Ronald L. Moy, MD as well as Skin Cancer Foundation editorial staff members. The entries were judged based on excellence in writing, medical accuracy, the use of compelling visuals and how well social media efforts were used to further the article’s message.

Entries were narrowed down to five finalists who were invited to attend the Gala. In addition to the award and certificate of recognition, all finalists and the winner received a specially designed emblem graphic for use in-book, online and in any related PR and marketing initiatives.

The 2016 finalists:

  • Allure for “Harsh Light” written by Jenna Rosenstein.
  • Dr. Oz The Good Life for, “Win the Healthy Skin Fight” by Meghan Rabbitt.
  • Health for, “Could This Be the End of Cancer?” by Mary Elizabeth Williams.
  • Parents for, “More than Skin Deep” by Kate Ledger.
  • Yahoo! Beauty for “I Cover Up at the Beach. Here's Why It Shouldn't Matter.” by Beth Greenfield.

media award finalists
The Media Award Finalists. Top row, left to right: Jenny Bailly, Jenna Rosenstein (Allure) and Chandra Turner (Parents). Bottom row: Mary Elizabeth Williams, Jeannie Kim (Health), Beth Greenfield (Yahoo! Beauty) and Brian Underwood (Dr. Oz The Good Life)

The Skin Cancer Foundation will begin accepting submissions for the 2017 Media Award next summer. For more information, please contact Becky Kamowitz at bkamowitz@skincancer.org.

Updated November 22, 2016