The Skin Cancer Foundation Hosts Annual Member Reception in Orlando, Florida

Nineteen Dermatologists Inducted into Membership Program;
$85,000 Awarded in Grants for Skin Cancer Research

New York, NY (March 15, 2017) –  The Skin Cancer Foundation hosted its annual Member Reception on March 3 at the Castle Hotel in Orlando, Florida, during the American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) Annual Meeting. During the reception, the Foundation inducted new members into the Amonette Circle, the Robins Fund and the Funds for the Advancement of Mohs Surgery. The Foundation also announced the winners of its annual research grant awards.

The Skin Cancer Foundation’s new president, Deborah S. Sarnoff, MD, welcomed reception guests and announced that nineteen physicians would be inducted into the Foundation’s membership program.

“One of my goals as president is to grow the Foundation’s membership program, so I’m delighted that we have so many new members joining us tonight,” said Dr. Sarnoff. “Our dermatologist members are really at the heart of everything we do, and we appreciate their dedication to The Skin Cancer Foundation’s cause.”

Five dermatologists were inducted into the Foundation’s Amonette Circle by Dr. Rex and Mrs. Johnnie Amonette:

  • Arash Akhavan, MD
  • Amy Brackeen, MD
  • Jeffrey Brackeen, MD
  • James O. Ertle, MD
  • Gregory J. Wilmoth, MD

Seven members were inducted into the Foundation’s Robins Fund for the Advancement of Mohs Surgery. Named in honor of Skin Cancer Foundation Founder, Perry Robins, MD, the Robins Fund works to ensure the perpetuity of Mohs surgery. 

  • Mark Cohen, MD
  • Adrian Connolly, MD
  • Shayla Francis, MD
  • Mary Margaret Kober, MD
  • Eyal Levit, MD
  • Rebecca Lu, MD
  • Shawn Sabin, MD

Several members of The Skin Cancer Foundation have begun their own membership funds in support of Mohs surgery. Members were inducted into the following funds: 

  • The David Goldberg Fund: David Ciocon, MD
  • The Leonard Goldberg Fund: Bobby Awadalla, MD and Robin Friedman-Musicante, MD
  • The C. William Hanke Fund: Cynthia Bartus, MD; Aimee Leonard, MD; Kelley Redbord, MD and Emily Tierney, MD

David Polsky, MD, chair of The Skin Cancer Foundation’s Research Grants Committee, led the research grants award presentation. Four well-deserving researchers received a combined $85,000 in grants for their work in the field of skin cancer research. They are:

Jesse Miller Lewin, MD
Columbia University
“Postoperative Phone Calls, Patient Satisfaction and Quality Improvement in Dermatologic Surgery”
The Skin Cancer Foundation Research Award: $10,000

Yuri Bunimovich, MD, PhD
University of Pittsburgh
“Neuroglial and Neuronal Regulation of Melanoma Progression”
The Ashley Trenner Research Grant Award: $25,000

Christina Lee Chung, MD
Drexel University College of Medicine
“Skin Cancer in Nonwhite Organ Transplant Recipients: Identifying a High-Risk Population”
The Dr. Marcia Robbins-Wilf Research Award Society: $25,000

Neda Nikbakht, MD, PhD
Thomas Jefferson University Hospital
“Epigenetic and Immunologic Modulators in Melanoma”
The Todd Nagel Memorial Award: $25,000 

The Skin Cancer Foundation’s Member Reception was sponsored by Amazon. Additional support was provided by Coolibar, Eau Thermal Avène and Genentech.


Editor’s Note: photos available upon request

Becky Kamowitz ( 212-725-5177
Ali Venosa ( 646-583-7979

About The Skin Cancer Foundation
The Skin Cancer Foundation is the only global organization solely devoted to the prevention, early detection and treatment of skin cancer. The mission of the Foundation is to decrease the incidence of skin cancer through public and professional education and research. Since its inception in 1979, the Foundation has recommended following a complete sun protection regimen that includes seeking shade and covering up with clothing, including a wide-brimmed hat and UV-blocking sunglasses, in addition to daily sunscreen use. For more information, visit